The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 06547
Date: 29 November 1871
Author: Anna Matilda Whistler[1]
Place: London
Recipient: James H. Gamble[2]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: Whistler W541
Document Type: ALS

Feldheim Wimbledon Common[3]

Wednesday Nov. 29th 1871

My dear Mr Gamble

I shall thank you in small measure now for your interesting home report of Oct & enclose this to Mr King[4] to tell you I sent a London Times for you to care of Wann & MacA[5], as I could not be sure whether to direct to H [i.e. Homeland] or N Y, please write me if you are to pass this winter at Homeland, then when I hear I shall write you fully as to our affairs. I refused all invitations to visiting relatives here or friends, while I could be at home with Jemie[6], & even after he finished painting my Portrait[7] such a success! with all the lovely pictures[8] of the river from our windows I staid til his studio was cleaned & all his Studies & China I put carefully away. The lease of our house[9] is renewed for 3 more years D V - so, our kitchen & its Larder is painted & put in complete order. I retain one Servant, the only one who had well profited by my training & so I trust Lucy[10] with the responsibility, now that I make a visit of a week, & then return refreshed & rested for my turn in staying at home & to be within Willie's[11] reach. he is steadily devoted to his course of medical practice, tho as yet indifferently paid for the cures he makes! Jemie has been at work at Speke Hall [12] since early in Oct, Mrs Leyland[13] writes me of the Portrait[14] he is taking of her that it is as life like as all think mine! It is life size & so is another of one of her daughters[15], she expects me to join Jemie for the Christmas holidays, & if Willie also could avail of her invitation I should enjoy it fully. I spent ten days early in this month at Albyns with my old friends the Gellibrands[16], it was such a benefit! I found all in nice order at home on my return, so I came here the more gladly to stay til next w[eek] [p. 2] at kind Mr Rodewalds[17], with his dear children[18] who are so dutiful & happy they make all around them so. Share my love with your wife [19] & dear Mrs Wann.

how I wish I could visit both your homes I need not assure you! It would over weigh my envelope to Mr King were I to enclose Cousin Ann Clunie's[20] last letter but it shall be put in my next directed to yourself. only tell me where and at more leisure I write a longer response to you.

I[21] am always as ever your loving friend

A M W.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Anna Matilda Whistler
Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more].

2.  James H. Gamble
James H. Gamble (b. 1820), clerk [more].

3.  Feldheim Wimbledon Common
Home of Johann Frederick Rodewald (see below), who married Mary Isabella McNeill, AMW's niece.

4.  Mr King
Ralph King (1801-1878), broker, father-in-law of W. McN. Whistler [more].

5.  Wann & MacA
According to the New York City Directoy for 1869, p. 668, they were listed as follows: McAndrew and Wann, merchants, 40 Broadway. Samuel Wann (b. 1820), was the brother-in-law of James H. Gamble; Alexander McAndrew was his cousin.

6.  Jemie
James McNeill Whistler (1834-1903), artist [more].

7.  my Portrait
Arrangement in Grey and Black: Portrait of the Painter's Mother, (YMSM 101); see #10071.

8.  pictures
Including Nocturne: Blue and Silver - Chelsea (YMSM 103) exhibited in 1871 as 'Harmony in Blue-Green Moonlight,' and Variations in Violet and Green (YMSM 104); see #10071. Both pictures were shown at the 5th Winter Exhibition of Cabinet Pictures in Oil, Dudley Gallery, London, 1871.

9.  house
2 Lindsey Row, London, where JW lived until June 1878.

10.  Lucy
Lucy Slater (b. ca 1852) , née Manning, JW's servant at 2 Lindsey Row [more].

11.  Willie's
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

12.  Speke Hall
The home of Frederick Richards Leyland (1832-1892), ship-owner and art collector [more]. It was an Elizabethean mansion situated near Liverpool; see AMW to James H. Gamble, 7-10 September 1870, #06545.

13.  Mrs Leyland
Frances Leyland (1836-1910), née Dawson [more].

14.  Portrait
Symphony in Flesh Colour and Pink: Portrait of Mrs Frances Leyland (YMSM 106).

15.  one of her daughters
Probably Portrait of Miss Florence Leyland (YMSM 107); it was never completed. F. R. Leyland commissioned portraits of all his children by JW; see Portrait of Miss Leyland (1) (YMSM 109), Portrait of Miss Leyland (2) (YMSM 110), and The Blue Girl: Portrait of Miss Elinor Leyland (YMSM 111).

16.  Gellibrands
Mary Tyler Gellibrand (b. 1812), née Ropes, wife of W. C. Gellibrand [more]; she lived at Albyns, England.

17.  Mr Rodewalds
Johann Frederick Rodewald (1808-1886), banker, husband of Mary Isabella McNeill [more].

18.  children
Alice Rodewald (1854-1923), Edith Rodewald (b. 1857), and Frederick Rodewald (b. 1864).

19.  wife
Harriet Gamble, née Wheaton, wife of J. H. Gamble.

20.  Cousin Ann Clunie's
Anne Clunie (b. 1793), a Scottish cousin of AMW [more].

21.  I
'I ... AMW' continues in the upper left margin of p. 1.