UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 06538
Date: 11 November [1868[1]]
Author: Anna Matilda Whistler[2]
Place: London
Recipient: James H. Gamble[3]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: Whistler W532
Document Type: ALS


[embossed monogram:] AMW

2 Lindsey Row

Nov 11th
Wednesday night

My beloved friend

Your bright coming so early yesterday morning, was all so sudden as to make me forget to ask where in Easton Square[4] to find you. Jemie[5] & I have regretted it, tho he was too worn out after his hard days work to have called, much as he feels the propriety of doing so, upon your lady[6]. I long again to meet your Harriet & to talk to you both of our mutual friends. Suppose if you should be at liberty you both come on friday afternoon, the customary time, for taking tea before the late dinner. My Irish servant only came to take her place today & must go thro a course [p. 2] of instruction ere I can venture to invite you to dine with us, but the afternoon tea is most social & suitable for our freedom to talk. I should not have let a day intervene, but that, if the weather is favorable I promised to go to meet my daughter at her Mamas[7]. I have read the note of my Cousin A Clunie[8] & you shall too, for it is her desire that you should share its disclosures as regards herself. And now how do you suppose I found your address? Why, by taking the nice book you left me, to read this lonely evening, my first leisure - & after scanning the preface I make this little expression of thanks to the dear donor, not knowing what may interfere tomorrow with my doing so, for my time is every bodies, but my own.

[p. 3] Jemie was so warmed by your embrace poor fellow he wishes he could do as his heart prompts, to devote himself to you. Willie[9] came for a half hour to see us today, but had to hasten to be back in his Consulting room at five ocl as usual, he was surprised & pleased to hear of your arrival in London - & asked your whereabouts, but I could only lament my neglect, I should ask you to step in if you are near Old Burlington St at No 14 (his name is on the door of the house - but he is D V to go to visit a patient near Regents Park tomorrow morning, & whether he can be back at his post by noon is to me uncertain. it is a case he is so interested in & the patient is nervous & needs humouring. I cannot tell you our dear friend how constantly you have been present with me since the hurried interview of yesterday. I have so much to listen to which you & your wife have to tell me [p. 4] of the liveliest interest, that if you are engaged for friday afternoon, come [at] any other convenient [time], only send a line to secure my being at home, as I am sometimes required to go out, tho in the present state of the atmosphere I scarcely venture. You know without my repeating it dear Mr Gamble, how truly I am, as ever Your affectionate friend & that your wife is inseparable; so share with her the loving regards of

A M Whistler


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  1868
Dated by the marriage of James H. Gamble which took place probably on 4 October 1868; see AMW to James H. Gamble, 30 October [1868], #06537.

2.  Anna Matilda Whistler
Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more].

3.  James H. Gamble
James H. Gamble (b. 1820), clerk [more].

4.  Easton Square
37 Eaton Square was the address of William Dunville, J. H. Gamble's cousin (see #06537).

5.  Jemie
James McNeill Whistler (1834-1903), artist [more].

6.  your lady
Harriet Gamble, née Wheaton, wife of J. H. Gamble.

7.  meet my daughter at her Mamas
In late April 1867, JW was in Paris, where his works were on view in the American section of the Universal Exhibition, Paris, 1867. There he quarrelled with Francis Seymour Haden (1818-1910), surgeon and etcher, JW's brother-in-law [more], over Haden's treatment of James Reeves Traer (ca 1834 - d.1867), partner in F. S. Haden's medical practice [more] (#01914, #01915, #01917, #05848 - #05850, #06994 - #06996). On 14 December 1867 AMW wrote to Deborah ('Debo' or 'Sis') Delano Haden (1825-1908), née Whistler, JW's half-sister [more], that she would never go to visit her again at her residence due to JW's dispute with her husband (#06529 and #06541). It is obvious that AMW preferred to meet Deborah at the house of her Emma Haden, née Harrison, mother of JW's brother-in-law, F. S. Haden.

8.  A Clunie
Anne Clunie (b. 1793), a Scottish cousin of AMW [more].

9.  Willie
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].