The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 06530
Date: 24 July 1867
Author: Anna Matilda Whistler[1]
Place: New York
Recipient: Jane Wann[2]
Place: [New York?]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W524
Document Type: ALS

[monogram:] AMW

189 Henry St.[3] Brooklyn

July 24th 1867

My dear Mrs Wann,

Have you heard of my return[4] to my native land? tho only on a Summers visit[,] I hope to meet most of my beloved circle of friends & relatives, ere my return to my daughter & sons[5] in London. I was welcomed under this roof last Saturday from Stonington where I had been in my Sister's[6] home circle a fortnight from the time of my arrival in the Java[7] at Boston from Liverpool. I expect on Monday next by Gods continued favor to go to New Brighton - to spend two or three days with my niece[8] & family the Rodewalds[9]. she invites me to go to her on that day, & I shall desire so much to see you while there & to hear of your brother[10], indeed it would delight me to divide next week between your home & Julias, if you & Mr Wann[11] are without guests or engagements? I have always been fond of recollections of my visit to you, tho now I should miss your dear mother[12] & your brother who I hear is abroad but should be interested in all you could tell me of him. Offer to your husband my friendly regards & be assured of the unabated affection of your friend

Anna M Whistler.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Anna Matilda Whistler
Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more].

2.  Jane Wann
Jane Wann (1822-1875), née Gamble, wife of S. Wann [more].

3.  189 Henry St.
189 Henry Street was the home address of Ralph King (1801-1878), broker, father-in-law of W. McN. Whistler [more]; see The Brooklyn City Directory, 1861, New York, p. 237.

4.  return
AMW moved to London in 1863 to live with JW. However, she spent the summer of 1867 in America visiting family and friends. She arrived in New York on 2 July in the Steamer Java. See Boston Daily Journal, 3 July 1867, vol. 34, no. 10,616. She began her return journey on 30 October (#06531).

5.  daughter & sons
James McNeill Whistler (1834-1903), artist [more], Deborah ('Debo' or 'Sis') Delano Haden (1825-1908), née Whistler, JW's half-sister [more], and William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

6.  Sister's
Catherine ('Kate') Jane Palmer (ca 1812 - d.1877), née McNeill, AMW's sister [more].

7.  Java
Steamer Java (1865), Cunard Line (2,697 tons.).

8.  niece
Julia Catherine Rodewald (1825-1897), née McNeill, JW's cousin, wife of A. Rodewald, Sr [more].

9.  Rodewalds
Adolphe Rodewald, Sr (1818-1869), husband of J. C. McNeill [more].

10.  brother
James H. Gamble (b. 1820), clerk [more], brother of Jane Wann.

11.  Mr Wann
Samuel Wann (b. 1820), merchant, brother-in-law of J. H. Gamble [more].

12.  mother
Jane Gamble (1790-1864), mother of J. H. Gamble [more].