UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 06507
Date: 22 November 1859
Author: Anna Matilda Whistler[1]
Place: Philadelphia
Recipient: James H. Gamble[2]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: Whistler W502
Document Type: ALS


1205 Arch St
Phila,

Nov 22nd 59

My dear Mr Gamble

Since receiving your letter I have been suffering[3] so severely, that I dared not answer it though my heart prompted a friendly response. Today I must write to report my having received the tub of butter from N Y per Adams Express[4] (perhaps in a business way I ought to add I pd Express 75cts - and if you will hand Mr Ralph King[5] the bill for the firkin[6] butter by the 1st Decr. he will have money of mine in his hand, not due til then. Tho I am sure he will advance the amt if preferred). I shall not need to open the butter til New Year I hope, no doubt it will be pronounced first rate! My old steady Mary McLaughlin[7] put down a large jar of golden Oct butter, which we are enjoying now, you will be sorry my own faithfully attached Mary cannot leave Springfield to be with me, before next Spring. She writes me affectionately & our trial is mutual in the separation, but it is duty! So the other Mary[8] is provided with a quiet home for another winter and I have a nice Protestant Irish Jane[9] to help her two days every week & John[10] who served us last winter has just returned to us. So harmony prevails. Donald[11] is improving [p. 2] at school & at home, he is a comfort & aid to me. Willie[12] is quite well and engrossed in his medical course, he would offer his love with mine were he aware of my writing you. The Express came after he went to Lecture and I wish to mail this (at our lamp post) before 1 ocl as then the city Postman makes one of his daily rounds.

I was so pleased to receive a beautiful letter dated at your Homeland a few days ago. If our dear Mrs Maxwell[13] is yet there, will you thank her with my love. I should only transgress her rules were I to write her while my eyes are so weak and painful. My love to your dear Mother and Sister[14]. I have twice called upon your friends Mrs & Miss McHenry[15], the last time, they were not at home & I scrawled on my card "all well at Homeland" they seemed so to wish to hear from Mrs Wann[16], they expect a visit from her I believe. When able to write my Jemie[17] I shall be sure to send your greeting of affection to him. In haste as Donie says it is one o'clock

yours as ever in the truest friendship & love

Anna M Whistler


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Anna Matilda Whistler
Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more].

2.  James H. Gamble
James H. Gamble (b. 1820), clerk [more].

3.  suffering
AMW suffered from chronic eye problems; see AMW to JW, 17 August and 16 September 1857, #06487.

4.  Adams Express
Express company; see AMW to James H. Gamble, 5 December 1858, #06502.

5.  Ralph King
Ralph King (1801-1878), broker, father-in-law of W. McN. Whistler [more] and of the firm of R. King & Co, New York. He seems to have taken care of AMW's and JW's financial affairs in America.

6.  firkin
A small wooden barrel capable of taking about nine gallons.

7.  Mary McLaughlin
Mary McLaughlin, AMW's servant in Philadelphia.

8.  other Mary
Probably Mary Brennan (b. 1825), AMW's servant [more].

9.  Jane
Jane, AMW's servant in Philadelphia.

10.  John
John, another of AMW's servants in Philadelphia.

11.  Donald
Donald C. McNeill (1844-1876), JW's cousin [more]; see AMW to Charles W. McNeill, 10/12 October 1877, #06561.

12.  Willie
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more]; he was studying medicine at the Pennsylvania Medical School in Philadelphia.

13.  Mrs Maxwell
Probably Ann Maxwell (1784-1867), née Young, wife of Robert Maxwell [more].

14.  Mother and Sister
Jane Gamble (1790-1864), mother of J. H. Gamble [more], and her daughter Jane Wann (1822-1875), née Gamble, wife of S. Wann [more].

15.  Mrs & Miss McHenry
Mrs McHenry, a friend of J. H. Gamble, and her daughter, friends of the Gambles.

16.  Mrs Wann
Jane Wann (1822-1875), née Gamble, wife of S. Wann [more].

17.  Jemie
James McNeill Whistler (1834-1903), artist [more]; he was then in London.