The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 06308
Date: [25 May 1892][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Ethel Whibley[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W302
Document Type: ALS[3]

33. Rue de Tournon - Paris

My dear Belle Soeur[4]! -

Drou[e]t[5] has asked tearfully for you - you will be pleased to hear! - Otherwise the shocking old man is buying and selling Whistler Etchings - and turning many a penny I dare say -

Now my dear Bunnie I am in awful worry about my proofs - The plates Grau[6] can pack in a box that he writes me he is making for them - and Mr. Thomson[7] will send the box on [p. 2] through his people here - But the proofs I want at once[8][.] They can be packed in merely a parcel or two parcels if more convenient - very nicely put together, and taken to Mr. Thomson, and finally done in that waterproof black paper, or even that would scarcely [be] necessary - In short nicely packed, and directed and sealed - and given to Thomson to transmit through Mons. Joyant[9] No. 19. Boulevard Mon[t]martre - At once though Bunnie tomorrow, as some people are asking for them here -

Grau has written as I told you, and as I am signing bill, for him which will give him cash, he may as [p. 3] well do packing after all - as he says he will now rush through with it - and we would consequently not have to pay more ready cash - However I would have the estimate from the stores - and then Grau can be kept down by it, if he were to ask fidler's [sic] prices! - I have written him letter explaining how the studio things should be got off -

Trixie[10] says never mind about the Leyland[11] furniture - it is doubtless very much faked up and we dont want cracked china! -

Goodbye! best love!
You had better get through and come back!
Bien des choses à ma Belle Mère -[12]

[butterfly signature]

[p. 4] 'May 25th 92'

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [25 May 1892]
Dated inserted in an unknown hand, possibly that of the recipient, on p. 4. Dated also by address.

2.  Ethel Whibley
Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].

3.  ALS
Written in purple ink.

4.  Belle Soeur
Fr., sister-in-law.

5.  Drou[e]t
Charles L. Drouet (1836-1908), sculptor and collector [more].

6.  Grau
Frederick H. Grau (d. 1894/1895), picture framer [more].

7.  Mr. Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

8.  at once
Double underlined.

9.  Mons. Joyant
Maurice Joyant (1864-1930), art dealer, manager of Boussod, Valadon et Cie [more].

10.  Trixie
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

11.  Leyland
Frederick Richards Leyland (1832-1892), ship-owner and art collector [more].

12.  Bien des choses à ma Belle Mère -
Fr., Best wishes to my mother-in-law (Frances Philip (1824-1917), née Black, JW's mother-in-law [more]).