The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 06267
Date: [February/March 1902][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: William Webb[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W261
Document Type: ALS[3]


Dear Mr. Webb -

Upon reflection we think that we should certainly have the house in question[4] -

The one of the Copper Door! The acquiring of the same under the most advantageous conditions, I leave of course to your finer methods & diplomacy -

For [p. 2] one year only, I suppose Mr Ashbee[5] might not see much reason for a reduction in price - Therefore we will propose three years' agreement, at say £135 per. an.

What do you think? - What I mean is that we want the house -

[p. 3] Mrs. Lawson[6], who has seen both Mr & Mrs Walton[7], will kindly go into further details - so that the working of all this may begin at once -

Always sincerely
J McNeill Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [February/March 1902]
Dated by the reference to the lease of C. R. Ashbee's house; the date '1902' is written in another hand. JW moved in to 74 Cheyne Walk on 22 March 1902.

2.  William Webb
William Webb (b. ca 1851), of G. and W. Webb, lawyer [more].

3.  ALS
The letter has a narrow mourning border.

4.  house in question
The house, 72 Cheyne Walk, proved an unfortunate choice, because of noisy building work going on next door (see #06268).

5.  Mr Ashbee
Charles Robert Ashbee (1863-1942), architect [more]. JW leased 72 Cheyne Walk in March 1902, and lived there for the remainder of his life with the Birnie Philip family.

6.  Mrs. Lawson
Constance Lawson (1854-1929), née Philip, painter, JW's sister-in-law [more].

7.  Mr & Mrs Walton
Edward Arthur Walton (1860-1922), painter [more], and his wife.