UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 06228
Date: [25 May/June 1896][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: William Webb[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W223
Document Type: ALS


Dear Mr Webb -

Is the enclosed[3] of any importance? as only an empty threat - I send it in its envelope - showing that my address is not very clear to them -

My will - It has been running in my head that this ought to be attended to - And though very much to be altered in detail, I think that a rough draft might be at once made, which we might work upon -

Could you come and dine with me on Friday? and perhaps we could draw up something? - I might come down [p. 2] to you at about 6. o' clock - and then we could drive up from the office together -

Always sincerely

J McN Whistler

'Whistler Will 1896[4]'


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [25 May/June 1896]
Dated from reference to JW's will. JW reconsidered his will shortly after the death of his wife Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more], in May 1896. He decided to appoint Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more], as his ward and executrix. See JW to W. Webb, #06229, and W. Webb to R. Birnie Philip, #06230.

2.  William Webb
William Webb (b. ca 1851), of G. and W. Webb, lawyer [more].

3.  enclosed
Not located.

4.  Whistler Will 1896
Written at the top of p. 2 in another hand. 'Will 1896' is double underlined.