UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 06122
Date: 28 September 1895
Author: Thomas Robert Way[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [Lyme Regis]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W119
Document Type: ALS[2]


LITHOGRAPHIC PRINTING OFFICE,
21, WELLINGTON STREET, STRAND, W. C.
LONDON,

Sep 28 1895

My dear Mr Whistler

Just a line to thank you for your letter[3], and to say that the drawings have arrived safely. The little doorway[4] should be all right, it is charming and so are they all. You have become a great animal draughtsman! Well! we dont agree about what you say respecting your early lithographs at all! To me the "nocturne[5]" is as fine as one of your old paintings of the same subjects, and the Battersea Bridge[6] is an [p. 2] exquisite picture, and the Frenchmen will as you say appreciate the superb technical achievement of both. The "Toilet[7]" is the standing figure in wash issued in the second number of Piccadilly. You shall have proofs of the new drawings as early in the week as possible

with kind regards to Mrs Whistler[8] and yourself

Yours very sincerely

Tom. R. Way

N. B. Please put a clear mark in a corner of the paper to show which is the right side of it - i.e - the chalked side, you know but it is not easy for us to tell and would prevent the possibility of an accident. This from my father[9] -


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Thomas Robert Way
Thomas Robert Way (1861-1913), printer, lithographer and painter [more].

2.  ALS
Published by Spink, Nesta R., The Lithographs of James McNeill Whistler, gen. eds Harriet K. Stratis and Martha Tedeschi, Chicago, 1998, vol. 2, p. 136, no. 142.

3.  your letter
#03403.

4.  little doorway
The Little Doorway, Lyme Regis (C.119).

5.  nocturne
Nocturne (C.8).

6.  Battersea Bridge
Old Battersea Bridge (C.18).

7.  Toilet
The Toilet (C.10), which was published in the the short-lived weekly Piccadilly: Town and Country Life on 4 July 1878 (see Spink, 1998, vol. 1, cat. no. 9-12, pp. 66-83; see also #11136).

8.  Mrs Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

9.  father
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more].