The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 06111
Date: 28 January 1894
Author: Thomas Robert Way[1]
Place: London
Recipient: Beatrix Whistler[2]
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W108
Document Type: ALS[3]


Jany 28th 1894

Dear Mrs Whistler

I find on looking through the paper you have sent me that I have 30 good small size sheets. beyond that, about 10 large sheets (not very perfect) and then some 8 sheets utterly unfit for use from mildew & stain. 12 sets of the six drawings at the Grafton[4] will require 72 sheets; so if, as Mr Whistler mentioned some time since, I put by the 10 large sheets, I have not quite half the proper quantity of paper - [p. 2] so will you please send me 42 sheets? (small size). and I will get them in hand at once for you. I am not quite certain as to two of the landscapes, the catalogue describes them simply as, "six original lithographs[5]". As I remember them they are 1." The nude reclining." 2 "the seated draped figure". 3 " The dancing girl" - 4. "Housetops, Brittany (with water)." 5 "Luxembourg Gardens, the steps." 6 - ? - I know it was one of the Luxembourg drawings but which neither my father[6] nor I can remember. Will you kindly say when you send the paper?

I wrote to Mr Whistler last night asking him as to the probable date of the Art Journal drawing[7]? Today I learn that I have to go to [p. 3] Cromer to make some sketches on Monday and shall not be back for a few days, consequently may I ask as a great personal favour if he will let me know by Sunday night's post so I may have it (only a postcard) by Monday morning? We are to have definite instructions to print for the Studio[8] on that day, and as they go to press for their February number too then, they I know would like to announce their date in this next number - Their issue is not likely to affect the Art Journal at all - but if the Art.J. is issuing before them they will lose all the good the great rarity of such work will do for them -

With kindest regards from my father and self to Mrs Whistler & yourself
I remain
Yours very sincerely

Tom. R. Way

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Thomas Robert Way
Thomas Robert Way (1861-1913), printer, lithographer and painter [more].

2.  Beatrix Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

3.  ALS
Published by Spink, Nesta R., The Lithographs of James McNeill Whistler, gen. eds Harriet K. Stratis and Martha Tedeschi, Chicago, 1998, vol. 2, p. 92, no. 80.

4.  Grafton
Fair Women, Grafton Galleries, London, 1894.

5.  six original lithographs
JW exhibited the three marines, together with six lithographs; see #03363. According to T. R. Way's titles (#06111), the lithographs were 'Nude Model, Reclining' (Nude Model, Reclining (C.73)), 'The Draped Figure, Seated' (The Draped Figure, Seated (C.72)), 'The Dancing Girl (The Dancing Girl (C.29)), 'Vitré: The Canal' (Vitré: The Canal (C.63)), 'The Steps, Luxembourg' (The Steps, Luxembourg (C.68)), and a Luxembourg drawing, possibly Conversation under the Statue, Luxembourg Gardens (C.69).

6.  father
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more].

7.  Art Journal drawing
D. C. Thomson had originally suggested using Vitré: The Canal (C.63), then Conversation under the Statue, Luxembourg Gardens (C.69), and eventually they agreed on Nursemaids: 'Les Bonnes du Luxembourg' (C.81), which was printed in an edition of about 3000 and published in The Art Journal, vol. 46, no. 120, December 1894.

8.  Studio
Gants de suède (C.35) was published in The Studio, vol. 1, no. 3, 16 April 1894