UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 06097
Date: 22 November 1892
Author: Thomas Robert Way[1]
Place: London
Recipient: Beatrix Whistler[2]
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W94
Document Type: ALS


LITHOGRAPHIC PRINTING OFFICE,
21, WELLINGTON STREET, STRAND, W. C.
LONDON,

Novr 22 1892

Dear Mrs Whistler

I have not answered your note until now when I could say that the transfer paper had started by book post. I have sent 22 of the cut sheets (some of the remainder was imperfect.) You will find the name and address of our people stamped on the backs of the sheets, but they are only agents for the makers in Germany and we have had the same paper offered us by other people so I have no doubt they have an agent in Paris. I trust we are going to [p. 2] have the honour of putting on stone the drawings made on this paper - It is not merely in transferring the drawing to stone, but in its after manipulation before the impressions are pulled that we have been able to overcome difficulties.

My father[3] and I are looking to see the portrait lithograph which you say the master has so kindly promissed to send us. It is of course certain that we shall like it as a work of art, and we are looking to see how it is produced from our point of view. [p. 3] I send you two prints which I have lately made, a stump drawing on stone from a slight Venetian pastel of the master's which process he would find most easy in working and sure in result and a reproduction of a figure pastel on brown paper, made with the transfer paper he sent, and done specially to test the possibility of printing in body colours on a dark ground. I may say that we find that in this subject the black has not been printed strong enough for the great strength of the light colours which have quite gone beyond our [p. 4] expectations. In the master's hands most delightful results could be produced.

With kindest regards from my Father and self to you both

I remain
Yours very sincerely

Tom. R. Way.

P. S. of course we saw the letter about the loan of the Carlyle[4] to Chicago or rather the application to loan, and enjoyed it.


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Thomas Robert Way
Thomas Robert Way (1861-1913), printer, lithographer and painter [more]. Published in Spink, Nesta R., The Lithographs of James McNeill Whistler, gen. eds Harriet K. Stratis and Martha Tedeschi, Chicago, 1998 vol. 2, pp. 58-59, no. 39.

2.  Beatrix Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

3.  father
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more].

4.  Carlyle
Arrangement in Grey and Black, No. 2: Portrait of Thomas Carlyle (YMSM 137). Although the picture was promised to the World's Columbian Exposition, Department of Fine Arts, Chicago, 1893, the loan never materialised. The letter referred to by Way has not been located.