UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 06096
Date: 26 September 1892
Author: Thomas Robert Way[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W93
Document Type: ALS


LITHOGRAPHIC PRINTING OFFICE,
21, WELLINGTON STREET, STRAND, W. C.
LONDON,

Septr 26 1892

Dear Mr Whistler

Its many months since we have heard directly of or from you[;] the papers have much to say, the latest being that you have taken a large house in a swell neighbourhood and intend settling in Paris[2], is this so? if it be true do come and see us when you make a visit over here. I send you a cutting from the Globe, perhaps the authorities may take the hint and act on it, if so we shall perhaps not loose [sic] you permanently[.] [p. 2] I am also sending to you six copies each of two of the lithographs[;] the "Drury Lane Rags[3]" seems to have been altogether overlooked and although pulled with those I sent you before, these proofs were not found till long after, the Old Battersea Bridge[4]; we had not paper large enough, and I have waited patiently to hear what you thought of the French paper on which I sent you one complete set. I also send you six impressions of my lithograph of which I beg your acceptance [p. 3] although looking at them, after a long interval, I feel them to be terribly unworthy their subject.

They do not make much progress with the sale at Goupils[5].

You promissed [sic] in your last to give me instructions as to the manner of laying down the transfer paper on the stone, I should be so glad to have them.

Are you doing any more colour prints? I think you might do something by the wash process on stone and in colour that would be marvellous -

[p. 4] My father[6] sends you his love and best wishes and with kind regards to Mrs Whistler[7] and yourself

I remain
Yours very sincerely

Tom R. Way.

J. McN Whistler Esqr

[sketch of roses or wreaths]


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Thomas Robert Way
Thomas Robert Way (1861-1913), printer, lithographer and painter [more]. Published in Spink, Nesta R., The Lithographs of James McNeill Whistler, gen. eds Harriet K. Stratis and Martha Tedeschi, Chicago, 1998, vol. 2, p. 56, no. 36.

2.  settling in Paris
JW had recently moved to 110, rue du Bac.

3.  Drury Lane Rags
Drury Lane Rags (C.25).

4.  Old Battersea Bridge
Old Battersea Bridge, No. 2 (C.13).

5.  Goupils
London branch of the firm of Boussod Valadon & cie, art dealers. In March 1892 JW had an major retrospective exhibition there (Nocturnes, Marines and Chevalet Pieces, Boussod, Valadon & Cie, Goupil Gallery, London, 1892).

6.  father
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more].

7.  Mrs Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].