The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 05914
Date: 18 May 1897
Author: George Washington Vanderbilt[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler V3
Document Type: ALS[2]

Longs Hotel

May 18th 97

Dear Mr Whistler

yesterday when Sturges[3] told me you were not in London I was greatly disappointed, both because I had looked forward [p. 2] to seeing you, venturing to hope for a Sunday afternoon visit to your studio, to make up for the visit I lost in March, and because I have a favor to ask of you. Is there a chance of your returning [p. 3] to London soon and if you do will you consider me a fit subject for a portrait[4]? I am expecting to be here until the end of June and again in the fall. I cannot begin to tell you how much I want [p. 4] an example of your great work. I revel at present in possessing your etchings but want an oil too.

Hoping you will consider this favourably believe me with deep esteem

Your admirer

George Vanderbilt

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  George Washington Vanderbilt
George Washington Vanderbilt (1862-1914), collector [more].

2.  ALS
Written on mourning paper.

3.  Sturges
Jonathan Sturges (1864-1911), author and translator [more].

4.  portrait
JW accepted the commission (Portrait of George W. Vanderbilt (YMSM 481); see also the Portrait of George Vanderbilt (M.1505)). His reply is dated 20 May 1897, #09488.