UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 05864
Date: [30 June 1877][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Stephen Tucker[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler T209
Document Type: ALS


[roundel with head of Leonardo]

ARTS CLUB.[3]
HANOVER SQUARE.
W.

Mon cher

You must take a ticket for July 6th (next Friday)

Mlle Nita Gaëtano[4] gives a Concert in Princes Gate, and Mrs Leyland[5] lends her house[6] - The "Peacock Room[7]" on this rare occasion you will see! It is thrown open - Voilà - All about the music of [p. 2] course will be right - [De Seria?], Tosti[8] - etc -

Lady Lindsay[9] will play on the violin -

I have undertaken to dispose of some of the tickets - So shall bring one with me tomorrow.

I shall come to meet you at 7. o'clock here - Arts Club - -

Wont that do? We can go and call and I will have a chop with you afterwards -

If this does not aggree [sic] with your arrangements, wire a word in the morning -

Ever Yours

J A McN. Whistler -

[butterfly signature]

Of course you must make people take tickets.

'30 June '77'[10]


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [30 June 1877]
Date appears to be written in another hand, probably the recipient's.

2.  Stephen Tucker
Stephen Isaacson Tucker (1835-1887), collector, genealogist and Queen's Herald [more].

3.  ARTS CLUB.
The letterhead and address are embossed.

4.  Mlle Nita Gaëtano
'Antoinette ('Nita') Gaëtano Moncrieff (b. ca 1849), née Mackie, poetess and singer [more].

5.  Mrs Leyland
Frances Leyland (1836-1910), née Dawson [more].

6.  house
The Leylands' London home was at 49, Prince's Gate.

7.  Peacock Room
Harmony in Blue and Gold: The Peacock Room (YMSM 178), JW's decorative scheme for the Leylands' dining room at Prince's Gate.

8.  [De Seria?], Tosti
[De Seria?] is unidentified; Francesco Paolo Tosti (1846-1916), composer and singing teacher [more].

9.  Lady Lindsay
Caroline Blanche Elizabeth, Lady Lindsay (1844-1912), née Fitzroy, artist and poetess, co-founder of the Grosvenor Gallery [more].

10.  '30 June 77'
Writte in pencil, in another hand.