UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 05821
Date: 14 May 1895
Author: David Croal Thomson[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler T166
Document Type: ALS


THE GOUPIL GALLERY
[Royal coat of arms]
BOUSSOD VALADON & CO.
5, REGENT STREET, S. W.
TELEGRAMS, BOUSSOD, LONDON.

London

14th May 1895 -

Dear Mr Whistler,

I have just received yours of Sunday evening[2] = but I am sorry to say that no telegram had has reached me from you - It would certainly have had as usual my immediate attention.

As Mr Kennedy[3] is now on his way from [p. 2] America I think it will be as well to wait his arrival as either you or I will certainly see him before his return. We will therefore leave the matter in suspense at the present

= A Mrs Ridley[4] widow of an old artist friend[5] of yours has brought here a sketch of yourself[6] painted also by you evidently a good many years ago. Mrs Ridley says it was painted in her husbands studio by you. She will not state her value of it but wants to sell. Will you kindly tell [p. 3] me if you remember the circumstances & if there are any reasons why we should not take it for sale. It is very slight but of course it is interesting.

= I sold your seaside picture[7] the other day to Mr J. S. Forbes[8] - I mean the one which belonged to Mr Shannon[9] & formerly to Deschamps[10][.] Mr Forbes buys it for £325 to put in his collection. You will remember that he is an [old?] old Chelsea resident

Mr Ionides[11] collection attracts many people but very little business is being done

[p. 4] In several letters about a month ago you said you were sending me some documents notably an "Interview[12]" which was a kind of reply to the one with Eden[13]. I have never received it but should be glad to have it.

With kind regards
Very Faithfully

D. C. Thomson

J McN Whistler. Eq

I did not see the N. Y. Herald[14] but am glad to hear it is all right


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  David Croal Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

2.  yours of Sunday evening
See #05820.

3.  Mr Kennedy
Edward Guthrie Kennedy (1849-1932), dealer with H. Wunderlich and Co., New York [more].

4.  Mrs Ridley
Mrs M. W. Ridley, wife of the artist.

5.  an old artist friend
Matthew White Ridley (1837-1888), painter and etcher [more].

6.  sketch of yourself
Not identified; it is not clear if this was an oil, such as Self-Portrait (YMSM 78), or a drawing.

7.  seaside picture
Blue and Silver: Trouville (YMSM 66).

8.  Mr J. S. Forbes
James Staats Forbes (1823-1904), railway manager and collector [more].

9.  Mr Shannon
Charles Hazlewood Shannon (1863-1937), painter and lithographer [more].

10.  Deschamps
Charles William Deschamps (1848-1908), art dealer [more].

11.  Mr Ionides
Alexander ('Aleco') Ionides (1840-1898), businessman [more].

12.  Interview
First published in the Manchester Guardian, and later in The Realm, see JW to H. Vivian, 29 April 1895, #08157 and JW to W. Heinemann, [May/June 1895?], #02084.

13.  Eden
These interviews relate to JW's dispute with Sir William Eden (1849-1915), painter and collector [more], over possession of Brown and Gold: Portrait of Lady Eden (YMSM 408), which received extensive press coverage between 1894 and 1899. Eden's interview was published in the Paris edition of the New York Herald, 2 March 1895.

14.  N. Y. Herald
The New York Herald published a correction regarding the price of a drawing bought by Thomson for JW (see #08286 and #08308).