UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 05805
Date: 23 April 1894
Author: Harold W. Bromhead[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler T150
Document Type: ALS


[oval cameo of Minerva:] THE ART JOURNAL

294, CITY ROAD, LONDON, E. C.

Apl 23. 1894

Dear Sir,

Mr Thomson[2] has requested me to write to you with reference to the reproduction of your picture 'The Little White Girl'[3] made by the Swan Electric Engraving Co[mpan]y, of which we sent you a proof a little while ago. I have called on the Swan Co[mpan]y, and have shown them your postcard[4], and they say that they are quite willing to try it again or to make any alteration or modification which you may desire, but they would be glad to know in what respect you consider it a failure. They say that they do all the work for the Pall Mall [p. 2] Magazine, and we believe that they are doing all the best work in London just now. So if you will be so good as to send us an indication of the direction in which you require the reproduction improved, we will get them to try again.

Yours faithfully,

H. W. Bromhead.

Secy. to Editor.

J. McNeill Whistler, Esq.

[p. 2, pen doodles]

'[Mrs?] Morgan[5]
Miss Leonard
Ethel
Trix
Jim -
Whibley -
H Cushing
K Frazer -
Mad. D'Aenthan
- Anderson ,'


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Harold W. Bromhead
Harold W. Bromhead (b. ca 1869), art dealer, secretary of the Art Journal and of the Society of Graver Printers in Colour [more].

2.  Mr Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

3.  'The Little White Girl'
Symphony in White, No. 2: The Little White Girl (YMSM 52). It was reproduced in Anon., 'Art and Mr. Whistler,' The Art Journal, vol. 46, no. 120, December 1894, pp. 358-361, at p. 359.

4.  your postcard
Not located.

5.  [Mrs?] Morgan
This list is in the hand of Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more], and is possibly a list of guests for a dinner on Friday, 4 May 1894, which she wrote about on 25 April 1894 to Arthur ('Peter') Haythorne Studd (1863-1919), painter and collector [more] (#03168). Among the guests listed are Mrs Morgan, neighbour of JW at 110 rue du Bac; Miss Leonard (possibly a relative of Leonard Raven-Hill (1867-1942), artist [more]); Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more], and Charles Whibley (1859-1930), writer and journalist [more]; Howard Gardiner Cushing (1869-1916), painter [more]; and Baronne Alice or Alix d'Anethan (1848-1921), artist [more]. 'Trix' and 'Jim' are presumably JW and his wife; neither Anderson nor 'K Frazer' have been identified.