UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 05765
Date: 11 January 1893
Author: David Croal Thomson[1]
Place: London
Recipient: Beatrix Whistler[2]
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler T110
Document Type: ALS


[Royal coat of arms]

THE GOUPIL GALLERY
BOUSSOD, VALADON & CO.
116 & 117, NEW BOND STREET. W.
TELEGRAMS, - BOUSSOD, LONDON.

London

Jany 11th 1893.

Dear Mrs Whistler,

I am very sorry indeed to hear of Mr Whistlers indisposition & I sincerely trust that it is only passing.

Mr Shannon[3] has consented to lend his picture[4] & Messrs Bourlet[5] will send for it. Mr Potter[6] answers as in the enclosed & I think it will be best for [p. 2] you to write to him as he has evidently very little wish to do anything with us.

Mr Gr. Robertson[7] we still await answer of, but doubtless he will lend all right.

Mr McLure Hamilton[8] asks to have the labels put on each in the usual way & this will be done at Bourlets

For Lady Meux[9] we write to her today to ask an appointment for tomorrow morning.

[p. 3] I have been busy with a question of a libel case with a certain Scotsman called 'Hamilton Bruce[10]' but he has climbed down & apologised to me otherwise we might have had £1000 from him. He is a very disagreeable fellow who knew me in Edinburgh as a child & he tries to act as if I was still a baby. It will entertain you to know all about this some day.

I suppose I must not expect to be anybody until I have had the [p. 4] usual libel suits & this time the lawyers said I could go for him. I am almost sorry he apologised so quickly!

We are moving from Bond St to No. 5 Regent St & 10 Charles St. St James on the 8th Feby. to "larger & more central galleries"

Yours vy truly

[stamped:] BOUSSOD VALADON & CO.

D. C. Thomson

MANAGER.


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  David Croal Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

2.  Beatrix Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

3.  Mr Shannon
James Jebusa Shannon (1862-1923), genre and portrait painter [more].

4.  picture
Blue and Silver: Trouville (YMSM 66) was sent to World's Columbian Exposition, Department of Fine Arts, Chicago, 1893.

5.  Messrs Bourlet
James Bourlet (b. ca 1852), art dealer, of Bourlet and Sons, Ltd [more]. They were packers and shippers for World's Columbian Exposition, Department of Fine Arts, Chicago, 1893.

6.  Mr Potter
John Charles Potter (1854-1920), wallpaper manufacturer and collector [more].

7.  Mr Gr. Robertson
Walford Graham Robertson (1867-1948), painter, designer and collector [more]. See his letter refusing to lend Crepuscule in Flesh Colour and Green: Valparaiso (YMSM 73) (#05198).

8.  Mr McLure Hamilton
John McClure Hamilton (1853-1936), artist [more].

9.  Lady Meux
Lady Valerie Susan ('Susie') Meux (1847-1910), née Langdon, collector and patroness [more]: she did not lend either Arrangement in Black: Lady Meux (YMSM 228) or Harmony in Pink and Grey: Portrait of Lady Meux (YMSM 229).

10.  Hamilton Bruce
Hamilton Bruce, possibly a dealer or collector.