The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 05736
Date: 5 May 1892
Author: David Croal Thomson[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler T81
Document Type: ALS

[royal coat of arms]
116 & 117, NEW BOND STREET, W.


5 May 1892.

Dear Sir,

Returning to town I find other two letters[2] from you which have been attended to so far as the paintings are concerned, but there remains [sic] several other important matters.

Album. This is not an easy matter to settle. The estimate from the photographers for printing & mounting seems to us so high that we have returned it for revision [p. 2] Can you tell us who made the portfolios for F. A. S.[3] or Dowdeswell[4]?

Very glad to hear about Graves[5] & the royalty. I shall dine with him this evening & am glad it is settled. Respecting the details as to printing the photographs & the defects noticed the whole are being enquired into & put right one by one.

Catalogues. By a mistake all the catalogues were sent yesterday, instead of only 10. Hope this will not inconvenience you

Album. We omitted to say that we [p. 3] are delighted beyond words with the general look of the photographs & that we ought to do well[6] with them -

Lithographs 'The Reading Girl[7]' has been duly received, but the Ruskin[8] books have not yet come to hand.

Affairs. Kindly say if there are any points omitted to be answered & response will be given.

The Duke of Marlborough[9] called in [p. 4] one day in my absence but would not leave any message

I hope to be in Paris before the end of the month

Yours vy truly

pp [stamped:] BOUSSOD VALADON & CO.

D. C. Thomson


J. McN. Whistler Eq

Menpes[10] is going to make a great effort with pictures of Venice & he is doing all he can to [land?] the aristocracy!!

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  David Croal Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

2.  two letters
See #08202, #08205.

3.  F. A. S.
The Fine Art Society, London dealers.

4.  Dowdeswell
Print dealers, who had published Mr Whistler's Etchings of Venice, 1880 (the first 'Venice Set') (K. 183-189, 191-195). (excat 5).

5.  Graves
Algernon Graves (1845-1922), of H. Graves and Co., print dealers [more]; they still owned royalties on some paintings by JW, which Thomson wanted to reproduce in an album of photographs of paintings by JW.

6.  well
Double underlined.

7.  The Reading Girl
The Novel: Girl Reading (C.32) or The Little Nude Model, Reading (C.33).

8.  Ruskin
John Ruskin (1819-1900), critic, social reformer and artist [more]. Thomson had lent JW a copy of Modern Painters: Ruskin, John, Modern Painters, London, 1843-60.

9.  Duke of Marlborough
George Charles Spencer-Churchill (1844-1892), 8th Duke of Marlborough [more], was considering commissioning a portrait, but this idea came to nothing; see r. and v.: Study for a proposed portrait of the Duke Marlborough (M.1337).

10.  Menpes
Mortimer Luddington Menpes (1860-1938), artist [more].