The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 05723
Date: 14 April 1892
Author: David Croal Thomson[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler T68
Document Type: ALS

[royal coat of arms]

116 & 117, NEW BOND STREET, W.


14 April 1892

Dear Sir,

Chapman[2]    Size of outside measurement of frame of No. 16. Chelsea Snow is centimetres
71 x 86 c/m
of No. 24 - Bognor 82 x 1m. 19 c/m
Mrs Peter Taylors[3] No. 15 - 1.04½ x 1.35 -
Mrs Leylands[4] No. 9 environ -> 80 x 95
97 x 1.23
Potters[5] 21 Wave 97 x 1.23
  "    33 White Girl 71 x 96½
Moore[6] 6 Trafalgar Sq.  80 x 95 46 x 61


We have got the picture & send it to our house to-day for you. These all should arrive by Saturday at the latest.

[p. 2] Duke of M[7]. This can be arranged outside B. V. & Co but only[8] as a matter of compliment for if any payment passes it belongs by right to the house of Goupil. This you will kindly leave in our hands for the moment for the Duke has promised to make an appointment immediately after Easter. You may be sure this matter will be well attended to.

Drummonds[9]. We send £25 to the Bank. Way[10] has been paid £33. 19. 3 his whole claim for Catalogues & less the 5% we claimed on your behalf for cash. There is still a little more - not much - a/c not yet ready.

[p. 3] Album. We shall have the proofs of all the photos next week. We have not seen one yet as the photographers have been so busy & weather bad. Yes we can use the B. V & Co 'Portrait of My Mother[11]'. We did not offer them for sale here, only the little lithograph of which we have sold 10.

We told Sickert[12] again to write to you & send his article.

We open again Tuesday, but all important matters stand until Wednesday.

Yours very truly

Boussod Valadon & Co

D. C. Thomson

J McN. Whistler Eq

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  David Croal Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

2.  Chapman
Alfred Chapman (1839-1917), engineer and collector [more].

3.  Mrs Peter Taylors
Mrs Peter Taylor, wife of the collector [more].

4.  Mrs Leylands
Frances Leyland (1836-1910), née Dawson [more].

5.  Potters
John Charles Potter (1854-1920), wallpaper manufacturer and collector [more].

6.  Moore
Albert Joseph Moore (1841-1893), painter [more].

7.  Duke of M
George Charles Spencer-Churchill (1844-1892), 8th Duke of Marlborough [more]. A portrait was planned but came to nothing after the death of the Duke in November 1892.

8.  only
Double underlined.

9.  Drummonds
JW's bankers.

10.  Way
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more].

11.  Portrait of My Mother
Arrangement in Grey and Black: Portrait of the Painter's Mother (YMSM 101).

12.  Sickert
Walter Richard Sickert (1860-1942), artist and writer on art [more]. He had written an article: Sickert, Walter Richard, 'Whistler To-day,' The Fortnightly Review, vol. 57, new series, vol. 51, April 1892, pp. 543-47.