The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 05713
Date: 2 April 1892
Author: David Croal Thomson[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler T58
Document Type: ALS

[royal coat of arms]

116 & 117, NEW BOND STREET, W.


2 April 1892.

Dear Sir,

We have had nearly 700 visitors to-day.

Catalogues. Very well! it is agreed that you have the clear shilling for those sold in the galleries. The others as in the paper of agreement

Photographing the Pictures. We shall discuss this with Mrs Whistler[2]. But as you [p. 2] will be able to understand, it would be worth the present writers appointment if he compromised the firm by photographing the pictures without the consent of the owners. We have a very great deal to do with copyright & we can assure you that it is not by any means a matter of course that the copyrights are yours. English law most unhappily is clearly against it unless you have so reserved the copyrights (or can show the [law?] on each & every receipt for the original picture. Besides that we shd [p. 3] in courtesy prefer to ask the permissions even although we had an actual right. It will not make any real difference in obtaining the permissions & it is more civil. By doing these things without permission we find it leads to so much trouble. Mr Potter[3] has been here to-day & he is most[4] disagreeable about his pictures having been varnished & the frames gilt. Even although he admits they are improved he maintains very warmly that it was what he calls a disreputable thing for Goupil to do anything [p. 4] without his consent. He refuses to condone what he calls our offence. But all the same we hope to get round him.

Are you sure you prefer photographs which certainly fade in many years to any process? But we can discuss all that with Mrs Whistler.

Also the other points you kindly mention

Yours vy truly

pp. [stamped:] BOUSSOD VALADON & CO.

D C Thomson


J. McN. Whistler Eq

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  David Croal Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more]. JW's retrospective exhibition, Nocturnes, Marines and Chevalet Pieces, Boussod, Valadon & Cie, Goupil Gallery, London, 1892 opened on 19 March. This letter is a reply to #08339.

2.  Mrs Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

3.  Mr Potter
John Charles Potter (1854-1920), wallpaper manufacturer and collector [more].

4.  most
Double underlined.