The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 05613
Date: 4 April 1900
Author: Arthur Haythorne Studd[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler S259
Document Type: ALS


April 4th. 1900.

My dear Mr. James

I should like very much to hear about "the Fire Wheel"[2] how it is getting on? and if the varnish has been removed under your directions & if I am soon to welcome it back to my drawing [p. 2] room - I sent it as you directed to the Maison Chapuis[3] & heard from them that they would send it back as soon as you had seen, directed & approved of their labour -

I hope you do not think I am unworthy of [p. 3] possessing it or taking charge of it.

This seems almost a business like way to begin a letter to you but there are far [sic] other thoughts which I should like to express if I could & I hope that you wont judge me by my wretched [p. 4] failings as a correspondent.

I have a great longing to see you again & wonder if you will be in Paris a little later on when I hope to get over to see the Exhibition[4].

It has been a very black year[5] for us all here - but there seems now to be a little dawning [p. 5][6] I suppose you will be shocked to hear that I have joined a volunteer corps and am drilling away at odd times so as to be able to hold a rifle in case of need - We have been and still are very anxious about my brother[7] (whom you have met). He is at the front & has [p. 6] been in the thickest of the fighting -

Could you let me know if Teddy[8] is in London, it would be a great pleasure if he would call on me or let me call upon him -

Please will you give [p. 7] very kind remembrances from me to B. Linda[9] and kind regards to Mrs & Miss Philip[10].

With all kindness, affection and loyalty, Cher Maitre, to yourself
I remain
Yrs very cordially

Arthur Studd.

By the bye, you would be [p. 8] interested to hear that a great many people are very anxious to buy the "Little White Girl"[11] & the latest price offered was £2500[.] I have also been asked to name my own price for it - I You need hardly tell you that this does not enhance the pleasure, I have in being with it - The pleasure I have in its beauty is always growing [p. 9][12] I determined to get it at all hasards [sic] seven years ago because of the joy & glory of its beauty & I have never repented nor found the pleasure it gives me grow less -

I never see the Whibley's[13] now - I believe they sometimes are in town but they never make me any sign or intimation of their existence.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Arthur Haythorne Studd
Arthur ('Peter') Haythorne Studd (1863-1919), painter and collector [more].

2.  the Fire Wheel
Nocturne: Black and Gold - The Fire Wheel (YMSM 169).

3.  Chapuis
Messieurs Brisson, Maison Chapuis, 2 Rue des Bourdonnais, Quai de la Mégisserie were the Paris picture restorers recommended by JW for repairing Symphony in White, No. 2: The Little White Girl (YMSM 52), which had recently been damaged (see JW to A. H. Studd, #03160).

4.  Exhibition
Universal Exhibition, Paris, 1900.

5.  black year
Studd had a brother who was a British soldier in the Boer War, then raging in South Africa. It had also been a sad year for JW; William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more], had died on 27 February 1900.

6.  [p. 5]
At the top of this page Studd has written '2.', indicating that it is his second sheet. The printed address is repeated at the top of this page as on page one.

7.  my brother
Charles Thomas Studd (1860-1931), cricketer and missionary [more].

8.  Teddy
Edward Godwin (b. 1876), son of Beatrix and E. W. Godwin; JW's step-son [more].

9.  B. Linda
Presumably a nickname for Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more].

10.  Mrs & Miss Philip
Frances Philip (1824-1917), née Black, JW's mother-in-law [more], and Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more].

11.  Little White Girl
Symphony in White, No. 2: The Little White Girl (YMSM 52) had been owned by Studd since 1893.

12.  [p. 9]
At the top of this page Studd has mistakenly written '2', indicating that it is his second sheet; it is actually his third, and the ninth side of text.

13.  the Whibley's
Charles Whibley (1859-1930), writer and journalist [more], and Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].