UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 05136
Date: [2 August 1892][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Alexander Reid[2]
Place: [Glasgow]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler R35
Document Type: MsLd[3]


RESTAURANT & HÔTEL
FOYOT
RUE DE TOURNON, 33.
PARIS, LE         189    

Dear Mr Reid

There are many things I should have liked to talk to you about, and especially about the "Brodequin Jaune[4]", & thinking that you were coming to Paris I havnt written hith hitherto - however I will put off no longer - My idea is that these things of mine are becoming more & more worth while - and it is rather rough on me that I should (from my willingness to take a sum down) - get so little out of the works by which the reputation[,] which is money to others[,] has been made - Since my exhibition already - eight or nine of my pictures have changed hand[s] at at least an average of ten times what I received for them - what I got for them -

All this doesn't go to establish for me the kind of commercial reputation business with my present work

Now - this picture is one of the most in repute, and is continually referred to in the press. There are many who look - upon [p. 2] it as much more [important] than for instance the "Furred Jacket[5]" which is more of an artists picture - besides being the portrait of a well - no - [sic] perso Lady - instead of an obscure nobody[6] - The public takes such a time learning things that it may take [some?] - years [to] see that my present work is always the best, and that I improve, this is what happened with my etchings, For 10 years the Thames set[7] was alone would [be] looked at, and it has taken me that time to get my present price, for the work I am doing now. - This "Brodequin Jaune" then is one of the last of my possessions - of the what the people are pleased to call that period - wherefore it seems to me - that I ought to have a to give to let me have a better chance - and I would propose that you say a - give me £600 and divide the profits - -


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [2 August 1892]
Dated from postmark recorded by copyist, Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more], in Whistler letterbook, #03201.

2.  Alexander Reid
Alexander Reid (1854-1936), Glasgow dealer [more]. See his reply, #05137.

3.  MsLd
In the hand of Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

4.  Brodequin Jaune
Arrangement in Black: La Dame au brodequin jaune - Portrait of Lady Archibald Campbell (YMSM 242). It was bought by Reid.

5.  Furred Jacket
Arrangement in Black and Brown: The Fur Jacket (YMSM 181); Reid had already bought it.

6.  nobody
Mary Maud Franklin (1857- ca 1941), JW's model and mistress [more].

7.  Thames set
A Series of Sixteen Etchings of Scenes on the Thames, 1871 (the 'Thames Set') (K.38-44, 46, 52, 66, 68, 71, 74-76, 95) (excat 4).