UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 05123
Date: 19 February [1888][1]
Author: William George Rawlinson[2]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler R23
Document Type: ALS


HILL LODGE,
NEW ROAD, CAMPDEN HILL. W.

Feb 19th

My dear Whistler

It was as I expected too late to stop Dyer[3] & the Nocturne[4] has just come back -

It is very beautiful again - Will you come & see it? Would next Sunday morning find you free? If so [p. 2] my wife[5] hopes you will come & lunch with us at 1 o'clock -

Yours sincerely

W. G. Rawlinson


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  19 February [1888]
Year date from other correspondence in this sequence. See #05119, #05120, #05121, #05122.

2.  William George Rawlinson
William George Rawlinson (1840-1928), silk merchant, collector [more].

3.  Dyer
William Dyer & Sons, picture restorers.

4.  Nocturne
Probably Nocturne (YMSM 114), or Nocturne: Blue and Silver - Battersea Reach (YMSM 119). Pennell mentions a 'small framed Nocturne' that was one of five paintings purchased from JW by Charles Augustus ('Owl') Howell (1840? - d.1890), entrepreneur [more] on 22 February 1878. See Pennell, Elizabeth Robins, and Joseph Pennell, The Whistler Journal, Philadelphia, 1921, p. 69. It was then sold on to Rawlinson. JW had offered to buy back the picture as its condition had deteriorated. However, in the meantime, Rawlinson sent it to the restorer (see W. G. Rawlinson to JW, #05119).

5.  my wife
May Margherita Rawlinson (b. 1822, m. 1867), néee Cridland, wife of the collector [more].