UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 05094
Date: [25/30 April 1888?][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: [J. Charles] Potter[2]
Place: [London?]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P734
Document Type: ALS


My dear Potter -

I did not like to keep the groom this morning while I wrote an answer to your kind note[3] - for he had already been waiting before I arrived at the Studio -

Of course it is very nice of you to yield the picture[4] after all - and I am only pleased at the value you set upon it and the care you take of it - It is a delight to have one's work in this [p. 2] way considered -

Only now of course it would be too late, as you say, to get it off - So I shall impose myself upon you another time -

Always with thanks Yours,

J McNeill Whistler

[p. 3] 'The well know[n] Victorian Artist[5]'


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [25/30 April 1888?]
Possible date from JW to Potter, #05005, and JW to H. S. Theobald, #09668, which appear to be related.

2.  [J. Charles] Potter
John Charles Potter (1854-1920), wallpaper manufacturer and collector [more] (see note below).

3.  kind note
Untraced.

4.  picture
Probably Symphony in White, No. 2: The Little White Girl (YMSM 52), which was owned by Potter. It is mentioned in a draft of a letter evidently written by JW a few days earlier; see JW to J. C. Potter, #05005. JW wished to send the picture to Ouvrages de peinture, sculpture, architecture, gravure et lithographie des artistes vivants, Palais des Champs Elysées, Paris, 1888.

5.  The well know[n] Victorian Artist
Written in another hand, in pencil.