UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 04824
Date: 4 November 1901
Author: Rosalind Birnie Philip[1]
Place: Paris
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P464
Document Type: ALS[2]


110 Rue du Bac.
Paris.

Nov: 4th 1901.

My dear General.

There is not very much to tell you about this morning's visit to Kelly[3]. He proposes sending for Carmen[4] and dealing gently with her, but in the meantime he wanted to know if there was anyone we could suggest who would throw any light on her.

Jeanne[5] at the studio he thought would be a good one to see & he proposed [p. 2] we should send her to him on Wednesday between 10 & 11 o'clock. We therefore telegraphed to you to know if this should be done.

Bodington[6] has again written to Ratier[7] about the lease. I am sending another large envelope with letters that Ethel[8] thinks may bear on the catalogue we sent you.

Maples[9] have sent to-day & will send an estimate as soon as possible. They can undertake to pack the china as they have expert packers of their own. They will get this done perhaps this week but the absolute removal of furniture cannot be commenced until Monday or Tuesday of next week, [p. 3] as they have to send to London for vans.

I am sending the other glove by this post, & hope that the first one reached you safely.

There is no more news, and we are trying to get on with the packing. The concièrge[10] has asked for the rent.

With love from us both & hoping that you are taking great care of yourself

The Major.

Shall we give the etching plates along with the purple background to Goupil's[11] to send over?


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Rosalind Birnie Philip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more]. JW called her 'Major' and himself 'General'.

2.  ALS
The paper has a mourning border.

3.  Kelly
Kelly, lawyer, partner in Boddington and Kelly.

4.  Carmen
Carmen Rossi, model, proprietess of the Académie Carmen [more]. She was suspected of selling JW's work.

5.  Jeanne
Jeanne, possibly a servant of JW in Paris.

6.  Bodington
Oliver Eaton Bodington (1859-after 1936), barrister and author [more].

7.  Ratier
Antoine ('Antony') Ratier (b. 1851), lawyer and politician [more].

8.  Ethel
Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].

9.  Maples
Packers and removers in London.

10.  The concièrge
The porter at 110 rue du Bac, which JW was leaving for good.

11.  Goupil's
Art dealers in Paris and London.