The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 04808
Date: 3 May [1901][1]
Author: JW
Place: [At sea]
Recipient: Rosalind Birnie Philip[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P448
Document Type: ALS

[Rising sun motif with motto:] QUIS SEPARABIT

S. S. May 3 -

'May 6. 01.'

A great 'big ship[3]' Major - beside which the one we came out in was a mere smack -

Good cabin & obsequious Steward with a No 2. slave to attend upon me more immediately - -

I don't know how long we are supposed to take - but will send word from Gibraltar -

Wrote yesterday -

Had your letter this morning with [p. 2] enclosure from Chapuis[4] -

Have sent him cheque - but really! where am I to "catch on" again!

No Ionda[5] as yet - and we are supposed to leave in three quarters of an hour - -

I don't understand about the letter you think was Carmen's[6] - You say you send it on - but where to? -

It was not among the others given me this morning at Messrs Estrines[7] -

I should be sorry to lose it -

Why did you not open it and enclose it in your own -

Much pleased with your visit to Webb[8] - thats all right - I knew you would do that well -

Might try again the Howard Hotel[9] - if nothing write a line to 9. Rue des Fourneaux and say that I had written to Ireland - and telegraphed from Ajaccio in reply to Mrs. Addams[10]' last letter -

If they have not been to Webbs, get Webb to write & say he had expected them, & let him arrange to send me the parchment for the [p. 3] Gourdiflo[11] to sign - & send back, I suppose, for my signature -

I dont want Bailey's Hotel!! - -

What do you think of saxpenny[12] rooms in Flood Street!? -

? -

Mind you send me word about the Vanderbilts[13] - but no use now -

Always affectionately

the General

Ronnie[14] will I am sure manage to get it all right about the return ticket money as I explained yesterday

This document is protected by copyright.


'May 6. 01.'

Miss Rosalind Birnie-Philip
Dhu House -
36. Tite Street - Chelsea
London S W
[postmark:] [illegible] ÉTRANGER / [illegible]
[postmark on verso:] LONDON. S. W. / 7.30 AM / MY 6 / 01

[on flap, embossed motif with motto: ] QUIS SEPARABIT


1.  3 May [1901]
Year dated from the postmark, and the date written by the recipient on the letter and envelope.

2.  Rosalind Birnie Philip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more]. JW called her 'Major' and himself 'General'.

3.  big ship
The SS Egypt sailed from Marseilles to England.

4.  Chapuis
Chapuis, maker of canvases and frames [more].

5.  Ionda
Patent medicine or tonic.

6.  Carmen's
Carmen Rossi, model, proprietess of the Académie Carmen [more].

7.  Messrs Estrines
Shipping company.

8.  Howard Hotel
This was where JW thought Clifford Isaac Addams (1876-1942), etcher [more], and Inez Eleanor Addams (fl. 1898-1927), née Bate, painter [more], were staying.

9.  Webb
William Webb (b. ca 1851), of G. and W. Webb, lawyer [more].

10.  Addams
Inez Eleanor Addams (fl. 1898-1927), née Bate, painter [more]. See JW's letter to I. Addams, 19 May [1901], #00071.

11.  Gourdiflo
JW's pet name for the Bates. Both Inez and Clifford Addams signed Indentures as JW's apprentices.

12.  Vanderbilts
George Washington Vanderbilt (1862-1914), collector [more], and his wife.

13.  saxpenny
Scots, sixpenny, ie. cheap.

14.  Ronnie
Ronald Murray Philip (1871-1940), civil engineer, JW's brother-in-law [more]. JW had paid for a return ticket, lost it, and had to buy a single ticket home (see #04808).