UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 04759
Date: [14 November 1899][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Rosalind Birnie Philip[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P399
Document Type: ALS


ADRESSE TÉLÉGRAPHIQUE - CHATHAMEL-PARIS
NO. TÉLÉPHONIQUE : 247-53
[Chatham coat of arms and motto:] BENIGNO NUMINE

HOTEL CHATHAM
PARIS

Tuesday eveg - -

I certainly thought I should have had a letter this morning Major, in answer to one I sent the other day - It had a wine bill in it among other things - The mails come in any how just now - only I hope the letters "get there all the same!" -

Here is Madame Ferrand's[3] card that Euphrasie[4] brought up to the Studio this morning - [p. 2] so thats all right - and of course the Doctor's[5] came with it -

Well now, to go on from yesterday, another thing, if the board were put up and people begin to come to see the house, I suppose that your room will have to be opened? - And then the silver moved -

What is your notion of all this? - for I think you said something -

However I suppose my letter reached you this morning and I shall hear tomorrow -

So this can go just now as it is with nice remarks generally to you all!

the General.

There is an article in a New York Magazine about "The Baronet & the Butterfly[6]" and a good deal[7] more about me beside, that I think Major at last you would like - and you too Ma'ame[8]! - It is by Julian Hawthorne[9], I told you about - the man you remember who flattened out the German Officer, who had been rude to his wife, and broke his sword over him, and left him in the mud with the pieces!!

[p. 3, visiting card:] MME A. FERRAND
'avec ses bien vifs remerciements'[10]
VENDREDI.


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

[Chatham coat of arms and motto:] BENIGNO NUMINE
HOTEL CHATHAM
PARIS

To
Miss Rosalind Birnie-Philip
Dhu House -
36. Tite Street
Chelsea -
London -
Angleterre
[stamp:] POSTE / 25 / REPUBLIQUE FRANCAISE
[postmark:] PARIS 96 / GRAND HOTEL / 8¦ 14 / NOV / 99
[postmark on verso:] LONDON. S. W. / 30 8. AM / NO 15 / 99 / 30


Notes:

1.  14 November 1899
Dated from the postmark.

2.  Rosalind Birnie Philip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more]. JW called her 'Major' and himself 'General'.

3.  Madame Ferrand's
Mme A. Férraud, a friend or neighbour of JW at 110 rue du Bac.

4.  Euphrasie
Euphrasie, JW's servant at 110 Rue du Bac.

5.  Doctor's
JW had recurrent bouts of illness for months.

6.  The Baronet & the Butterfly
Whistler, James McNeill, Eden versus Whistler: the Baronet & the Butterfly. A Valentine with a Verdict, London, 1898.

7.  a good deal
Continued in the left margin, at right angles to the main text.

8.  Ma'ame
Frances Philip (1824-1917), née Black, JW's mother-in-law [more].

9.  Julian Hawthorne
Julian Hawthorne (1846-1934), novelist [more].

10.  'avec ses bien vifs remerciements'
Fr., with thanks. The visiting card bears a message written by Mme Ferrand, in purple ink.