UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 04742
Date: 5 October [1898][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Rosalind Birnie Philip[2]
Place: Paris
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P382
Document Type: ALS[3]


4. Whitehall Court[4] - London

Tuesday. Oct. 5

Here you are Major - Send me a line at once to say that you have received the cheque all right -

I suppose you must get a new range or stove for the kitchen - Whatever it is the sooner the better - [p. 2] Dont be any more extravagant than you can help just now -

Though I dont want you to suppose for a moment that I think you are - neither would I have any stinting of any kind -

Only a little passing economical thought of my own! -

I suppose I shall get off [p. 3] on Sunday or Monday -

You might just look in on Carmen[5] - and tell her not to be at all troubled - What can a few days matter, and they are all important to me!

I sent her my letter to the papers that she might see - and told her to ask MacMonnies[6] to read it to the school[7] - so that they can all be quite satisfied -

Bunnie[8] has managed it all for me with her very kindly [p. 4] and perfectly - only I can't be worrying her all the time -

Still she might prefer continuing herself! you are a skittish lot! so you had better tell her - and indeed you might both go together - which would be very nice for I suppose you would like to see the place too -

I want to know if the worth of importance of my letter has been impressed upon Carmen - and if she understands? Also[9] did she get my letter to herself? It was posted last night -

[p. 3] with kindest messages to all

the General -


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

Registered[10]

Madmoiselle Birnie-Philip
aux soins de
Monsieur McNeill Whistler
110 Rue du Bac -
Paris
France
[stamp:] POSTAGE AND REVENUE / 4 ½d
[postmark:] REGISTERED / WDO / G 6 / 5 OC 98
[postmark:] WESTERN DISTRICT / B / OC 5 / 98
[postmark on verso:] 9 PARIS 9 / DISTRIBUTION / 2E / 8 / OCT / 98


Notes:

1.  5 October [1898]
Dated from the almanac and the postmark.

2.  Rosalind Birnie Philip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more]. JW called her 'Major' and himself 'General'.

3.  ALS
The stationery has a deep mourning border.

4.  4. Whitehall Court
JW was staying with William Heinemann (1863-1920), publisher [more].

5.  Carmen
Carmen Rossi, model, proprietess of the Académie Carmen [more]. JW had written to her on the previous day, #10735.

6.  MacMonnies
Frederick William MacMonnies (1863-1937), sculptor [more].

7.  school
The Paris atelier that JW had recently opened for Carmen. MacMonnies was involved with the school in its early stages but he later withdrew. See JW's letters to Douglas Straight and to the Editor of the Daily Chronicle, 1 October [1898], #09347 and #07664.

8.  Bunnie
Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].

9.  Also
'Also ... last night' was written in the left margin of p. 4, and 'with ... General -' in the left margin of p. 3, both at right angles to the main text.

10.  Registered
Triple underlined.