The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 04740
Date: [15 September 1898][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Rosalind Birnie Philip[2]
Place: [Jersey]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P380
Document Type: ALS[3]

Major -

I certainly thought I should have had a note this morning - Of course my telegram to Bunnie[4] you must have got all right -

Did you not get my letter[5] of the day before - with the suggestions about Eden papers[6] and cheque? -

I always have [p. 2] a fancy to know that things reach you -

It seems that I forgot in yesterdays note to enclose the telegram I told you of[7] - It came open - and yet all these days too late!! -

I cant tell you how grieved and pained -

Send me back the dépeche[8] -

[p. 3] Caryn[9] is in New York! - where he practices - his father wrote & told me -

The General -

My brother the Doctor[10] has been very ill - better now -

My new doctor, who lives in the house, & is not bad for a Briton - speaks of sending me to the sea - but not for a day or two -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [15 September 1898]
Dated by the reference to his previous letter, [14 September 1898], #04739.

2.  Rosalind Birnie Philip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more]. JW called her 'Major' and himself 'General'.

3.  ALS
The letter has a mourning border.

4.  Bunnie
Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].

5.  letter
See #04739.

6.  Eden papers
Sir William Eden (1849-1915), painter and collector [more]. The papers related to the case of Eden v Whistler.

7.  telegram I told you of
The telegram announcing the sudden death of his friend Stéphane Mallarmé (1842-1898), Symbolist writer and poet [more] on 9 September,#03772. Greatly upset, JW wrote a letter of condolence to Mallarmé's wife and daughter ([14 September 1898], #13274). See also #04739.

8.  dépeche
Fr., telegraph, wire.

9.  Caryn
Dr Caryn, JW's doctor in Paris. JW had been ill.

10.  My brother the Doctor
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].