UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 04739
Date: [14 September 1898][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Rosalind Birnie Philip[2]
Place: [Jersey]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P379
Document Type: ALS[3]


Wednesday[4]

Tell Bunnie[5] not to trouble about my papers in Paris - I shall manage -

This telegram only came to me this morning!!! forwarded by Euphrasie[6] through Blanchet[7] - and it came open! -

Now as it must have reached been delivered [p. 2] in the Rue du Bac last friday - you had better ask Euphrasie what it all means -

Send me back the telegram - and dont let anybody talk to me about Mallarmé[8]! -

Here is the cheque - and my dear Major if I seem to make it, in the way, rather light - it is only because of the post - and you shall have another directly you ask for it -

[p. 3] I am rather down - and shall probably wander about -

I thought I should like to see Caryn[9] - (only a cold) - and have sent for him - He has gone back to Brighton!

Affecy

the General

Kindest messages -

4. Whitehall Court[10] -

Write at once and tell me where you remember any of the papers of Eden[11] case - The large envelopes &c. And especially the lot that I brought back one night from Beurdeley[12].

I have the key of [p. 4] [chest of d] wardrobe - and of course there must be much of what I want in the drawers -

I remember you put all the writings in order just before you came away -

You had just better stay on in Jersey for the present - so I wouldnt confine myself to one week with the landlord - I daresay there would be no difficulty - and he would only be too glad to have you anyway! -


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [14 September 1898]
Date estimated from the sequence of letters (#04737; #04738; #04740; #04741), and the almanac, this being a Wednesday in September 1898.

2.  Rosalind Birnie Philip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more]. JW called her 'Major' and himself 'General'.

3.  ALS
The letter has a deep mourning border.

4.  Wednesday
Double underlined.

5.  Bunnie
Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].

6.  Euphrasie
Euphrasie, JW's servant at 110 Rue du Bac.

7.  Blanchet
Blanchet, probably a servant.

8.  Mallarmé
Stéphane Mallarmé (1842-1898), Symbolist writer and poet [more]. His daughter had sent JW a telegram saying that Mallarmé had died on 9 September (#03772). JW, greatly upset, wrote a letter of condolence to Mallarmé's wife and daughter, [14 September 1898], #13274.

9.  Caryn
Dr Caryn, JW's doctor in Paris.

10.  4. Whitehall Court
The address of William Heinemann (1863-1920), publisher [more].

11.  Eden
Sir William Eden (1849-1915), painter and collector [more].

12.  Beurdeley
Paul Beurdeley (1842-after 1902), advocate at the Cour d'Appel, Paris [more].