UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 04735
Date: [15 and 16 July 1898][1]
Author: JW
Place: Dunster
Recipient: Rosalind Birnie Philip[2]
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P375
Document Type: ALS


LUTTRELL ARMS HOTEL,
DUNSTER,
SOMERSET.

'July 15 and 6th 1898'

My dear Major -

Here we are at present! And to you I fancy this would be perfect - Certainly the prettiest part of England I have seen as yet - ! Only - the roads are all red! which with the green hills is a shocking business - and the people have spoiled their cottages by daubing them all over a sort of dull drabb red too! - after their own savage instinct -

We are going in a trap to [p. 2] find the sea which is "hard by" -

If we change the address I will let you know -

My notion is that this place would be the delight of your mother[3] & yourself - and you could come straight over to Southampton by the Havre boat and on by train, direct from Southampton

However if you have a plan of your own you can try it -

[p. 3] If you come here though you could stay on and ask Miss Maude[4] of [sic] Miss Frank[5] down to see you - And it is warm - Gulf stream and all the rest of it -

Always - with pleasant messages

The General.


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [15 and 16 July 1898]
Dated by an unknown hand.

2.  Rosalind Birnie Philip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more]. JW called her 'Major' and himself 'General'.

3.  your mother
Frances Philip (1824-1917), née Black, JW's mother-in-law [more].

4.  Miss Maude
Philippa Maude Philip (1865-1915), JW's sister-in-law [more].

5.  Miss Frank
Frances Septima Philip (1867-1949), JW's sister-in-law [more].