UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 04709
Date: [15 July 1897][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Rosalind Birnie Philip[2]
Place: Paris
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P349
Document Type: ALS[3]


I send you back the Bing[4] things to put away again my dear Major -

Also you will find a letter from the Dulac[5], you know, Madame Delaughs[6] brother, about letting workmen knock down the wall or repair or something in the studio - at the side of the stair going up to the Gallery - By the fire place I suppose and away from the work - They want my permission I understand - Read the letter Major - and tell Madame Delaugh that I consent - but will hold them responsable [sic] if they in any way trouble the work - Also that they must make every thing perfectly clean and do away with all traces of the men having been in -

All this will put off the [p. 2] cleaning you had intended with the Concierge until after the workmen, They are only to be a couple of days though -

By the way have you had any more bother with the Architect and people about the well in the kitchen at home? - And Mrs. Morgan[7] - shall I write to her?

In reading again the letter from Monsieur Dulac, it seems to be all right and proper - Perhaps Bunnie[8] might go with you - yes that would be right, for I suppose Madame Delaugh herself would be in the country now - Well then you might both go up and see, and say that I rely upon the great care they promise personally to take in seeing that all is correct - I mark the passage which you can point out -

The shoes have come - They do look a bit long - but dandy! I will see - Tell Bunnie not to trouble further about Walter Sickert[9] - Webb[10] has seen him!! Details later - Also I want to have the Indian Muslin I am always asking for - You know Major - There was still a dress & certainly a piece left to be made into dress for me - Perhaps Bunnie had it - Do find it and send over at once -

How are you and your Mama[11]? - Say many things to her from [12] me - Perhaps I may get over soon - and we might see about some getting away for you -

Always affectionately

the General.


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

'JULY 15th 1897'

à
Mademoiselle Birnie-Philip.
aux soins de
Monsieur McNeill Whistler
110. Rue du Bac
Paris -
France .
[stamp:] 5d
[postmark:] [...] / JY 15 / 97
[postmark on verso:] PARIS 9 / (DISTRIBUTION) / 1E 16 / JUIL / 97


Notes:

1.  [15 July 1897]
Dated from the postmark. The same date was written in another hand on the envelope.

2.  Rosalind Birnie Philip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more]. JW called her 'Major' and himself 'General'.

3.  ALS
The stationery has a deep mourning border.

4.  Bing
Siegfried ('Samuel') Bing (1838-1905), Paris art dealer and specialist in oriental art [more]. See his account, [19-29 May 1897], #13034.

5.  Dulac
Dulac, senateur, a neighbour of JW, living at 86 rue Notre Dame des champs from 1896-1900. He wrote to JW on 10 July 1897 (#04710).

6.  Madame Delaughs
Mme Delaugh, Delange or Dalangle, a servant or employee of JW and his wife in Paris.

7.  Mrs. Morgan
Mrs Morgan, neighbour of JW at 110 rue du Bac.

8.  Bunnie
Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].

9.  Walter Sickert
Walter Richard Sickert (1860-1942), artist and writer on art [more]. He had been involved in a court case on 5-6 April 1897 with Joseph Pennell in which JW was called as witness (see #08482).

10.  Webb
William Webb (b. ca 1851), of G. and W. Webb, lawyer [more].

11.  Mama
Frances Philip (1824-1917), née Black, JW's mother-in-law [more].

12.  from...
The letter continues in the left margin of p. 1 at right angles to the main text.