The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 04542
Date: [2 April 1878][1]
Author: Georgiana Horne Payne[2]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P182
Document Type: ALS


Dear Mr. Whistler

I beg to return your etchings[3] which with your note[4] arrived a few moments ago causing me no little surprise. The only explanation I can imagine is that yesterday being the 1st of April[5] some one has taken the liberty of playing a practical joke of which I have had the benefit [p. 2] and you the trouble.

I certainly never addressed a note to you, and I think I am the only Mrs Horne Payne in London. We are going out of town I think on Saturday or I would avail myself of the knowledge of your being at your studio, to call and enquire if any light had been thrown on this [p. 3] mysterious affair.

With very kind regards I am dear Mr Whistler
Faithfully yours

Geo[...]a Horne Payne


This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [2 April 1878]
This letter is dated 'Tuesday' and JW's reply (#07714) dates from April 1877 or 1878, making the likely date for this letter Tuesday, 2 April 1878.

2.  Georgiana Horne Payne
Georgiana Horne Payne (b. 1837 or 1838), widow of G. S. Atwood, later wife of J. H. Payne [more].

3.  etchings
It is not known which etchings were involved.

4.  note
Not located. The draft of JW's reply to Mrs Payne is #04543, the final version is #07714.

5.  1st of April
1 April is April Fool's Day.