UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 04071
Date: 13 January 1892
Author: Valerie Meux[1]
Place: Waltham Cross
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler M341
Document Type: ALS


THEOBALDS PARK,
WALTHAM CROSS,
HERTS.

[embossed:] STATION & TELEGRAMS,
WALTHAM CROSS.

Jan 13th 1892

Dear Mr Whistler

I am unable to go to town this week, therefore I fear I shall not see my picture[2] until after it has been [p. 2] exhibited in Paris[.] I am glad to hear it has so many admirers. Sir Henry[3] does not[4] intend to part with it

If you ever[5] paint me again I should like you to paint [p. 3] me in something dreamy[6][.] I look best in soft colours

I shall hope to see you on your return from Paris[.] I think you & I always get on well together

I suppose we are both a little eccentric [p. 4] and not loved by all the world, personally I am glad of it as I should prefer a little hate

I hope you will escape this horrible influenza.

With kind regards
Sincerely Yours

V B Meux


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Valerie Meux
Lady Valerie Susan ('Susie') Meux (1847-1910), née Langdon, collector and patroness [more].

2.  my picture
Harmony in Pink and Grey: Portrait of Lady Meux (YMSM 229) was exhibited at the 2nd Exhibition, Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, Paris, 1892 (cat. no. 1066).

3.  Sir Henry
Sir Henry Bruce Meux (1857-1900), 3rd Baronet, brewer and patron [more].

4.  not
Underlined three times.

5.  ever
Underlined three times.

6.  dreamy
Underlined three times.