UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 03655
Date: [August 1897/1898][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Ernest George Brown[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 9/58
Document Type: ALS[3]


8. Fitzroy Street.

Monday -

Dear Mr Browne [sic] -

Do you think that Miss Nellie[4] might come tomorrow with her Mama[5]? - Say at 10 o'clock -

I fancy that is my best day - If so will you tell them when you go [p. 2] home - and if I do not hear to the contrary I shall expect them - for I dont know when I may be obliged to run over to Paris -

Very faithfully

J McN Whistler

If Mr Huish[6] has gone and has left cheque with you, you might send it on by my man - -


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

To
Ernest Browne Esq
Fine Art Society
148. New Bond Street


Notes:

1.  [August 1897/1898]
Dated from the reference to a portrait (see note below).

2.  Ernest George Brown
Ernest George Brown (1853 or 1854-1915), assistant manager at the Fine Art Society [more].

3.  ALS
Written on stationery with a mourning border.

4.  Miss Nellie
Helen ('Nellie'), daughter of the dealer, E. G. Brown [more], then sitting for a portrait, Rose and Gold: 'Pretty Nellie Brown' (YMSM 451).

5.  Mama
Elsie Brown (d. 1943), wife of E. G. Brown [more].

6.  Mr Huish
Marcus Bourne Huish (1843 - d.1921), barrister, writer and art dealer, Director of the Fine Art Society [more]