UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 03640
Date: 28 November [1896][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Ernest George Brown[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 9/45
Document Type: ALS[3]


Dear Mr. Browne [sic] -

I think & hope that perhaps on Friday we manage to see Miss Nellie and her Mama[4] here again - and then in the afternoon you might come in -

Here is the revise for the Pennell Catalogue[5] - It would be less miserable & cheap looking if it were on a clean page by itself, facing the "Catalogue".

[p. 2] Send me back a proof that I may see that it is correct - Certainly at present it looks exceedingly ugly! & common[6]!! and shabby! - recalling former economies of the Board!!. -

Note that I have taken out the words: from Mr Whistler - also that I have begun the first line further on - preseeding [sic] it with opening dots ...... - See that the printers do all this properly - and especially that my name is in smaller and neater caps -

You have never sent me the proofs of Mallarmé[7] - the lithographs - I want them all - You had better give them now to my man who brings this -

I am much pleased with the work of Mr Holland[8] - he has laid down my water colour capitally -

Very faithfully,

J McN. Whistler

[p. 3] 'Saturday 28th Nov

Mr Bruton
Mr [Truhorn?][9]'


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  28 November [1896]
Dated from the almanac.

2.  Ernest George Brown
Ernest George Brown (1853 or 1854-1915), assistant manager at the Fine Art Society [more].

3.  ALS
Written on narrow-bordered mourning paper.

4.  Miss Nellie
Helen ('Nellie'), daughter of the dealer, E. G. Brown [more], was then sitting for a portrait, Rose and Gold: 'Pretty Nellie Brown' (YMSM 451).

5.  Mama
Elsie Brown (d. 1943), wife of E. G. Brown [more].

6.  Pennell Catalogue
The catalogue of the exhibition, Mr Whistler's Lithographs, The Fine Art Society, London, 1895, had a preface written by Joseph Pennell (1860-1926), printer and illustrator, JW's biographer [more].

7.  common
Double underlined.

8.  Mallarmé
Stéphane Mallarmé, No. 2 (C.59) or Stéphane Mallarmé (C.60), portraits of Stéphane Mallarmé (1842-1898), Symbolist writer and poet [more].

9.  Mr Holland
Holland, framemaker and picture restorer. The watercolour has not been identified. It might possibly have been Rose and Pink - the Mother's sleep (M.1300); see JW's letter to D. C. Thomson, 14 December 1896, #08415.

10.  Mr [Truhorn?]
'Saturday 28th ... Mr [Truhorn?]' is written faintly in pencil in another hand.