The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 03569
Date: [December 1901/January 1902][1]
Author: JW
Place: Bath
Recipient: Charles James Singleton[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 8/25
Document Type: ALS[3]

7. Marlborough Street
Bath -

My dear Charlie -

You see I am away again! and so I cannot be with you at dinner yet awhile - as otherwise I should have well liked - which, by the way, seems to me rather odd English for classic Bath!

Make my apologies to [p. 2] Agnes[4] - and when I run up again, if you are not off to Ireland, I will come and stay in the nice room she so kindly had made ready for me! -

And now there is a little thing you might do for me - I want you to send your excellent man with my umbrella to Mr Robert Dicker[5], the old silversmiths, No. 8. Vigo Street, out of Bond Street -

They are going to put a silver plate on the handle - and expect it -

So he will only have to leave it from me -

As it is so close by, I venture to trouble thus much - and many thanks before hand -

With kindest regards to you both
Always sincerely

J McNeill Whistler

you know my dear Charlie how I sympathize with you in this your great sorrow!

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [December 1901/January 1902]
Dated from the address. JW spent some weeks convalescing from illness in Bath from December 1901.

2.  Charles James Singleton
Charles James Singleton, Jr (1841-1918), accountant [more]. The nature of Singleton's 'sorrow' is unknown.

3.  ALS
The paper has a mourning border. Published in Sotheby's sale catalogue, 10 December 1923, lot 406; 11 April 1927, lot 257.

4.  Agnes
Bridget Agnes Hiffernan (1844/1845-after 1919), mistress and later wife of C. J. Singleton, and sister of Joanna Hiffernan [more].

5.  Robert Dicker
Robert Dicker (ca 1827-1900), silversmith [more].