UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 03562
Date: [1/8 July 1878][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: James Alfred Chapman[2]
Place: [Liverpool]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 8/11-12
Document Type: ALS


I say my dear Jack -

I dont know whether we are at cross purposes about the "St. James[3]" - but what I meant to say was that I have not a proof now - and cannot print one for some weeks - probably not before our return from the Irish trip[4] - So make your choice of all the others - (the price of the St. James is 3. gs -) and send us the cheque as I explained to me, not to Hogarth[5] whom I had only told to pack and send the choice proofs [p. 2] of mine that I had picked and left with him to show, and as it was convenient they went direct from his place -

I am going this very next week right off to the Airlies[6] in Scotland where they have asked me and where they want me to make some etchings portraits[7] - They promise to see that I get over to Susie's[8] on the 10. or 11th all right - So you see Jack that will be all jolly and as it ought - and also you see that if you send your cheque tomorrow how jolly well it will come in -

I saw the article[9] in question - of course - must I have to see every ribald joke that was ever cracked by the enemy!

Ever yours

J A McN. Whistler

[butterfly signature]

28. Wimpole Street[10]

[p. 3] Don't think it is neglect about the St James! I haven't a proof to send - and the press is not put up and it is impossible to print decently the proof you ought to have[11] -


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [1/8 July 1878]
Dated from references to St. James's Street (K.169a).

2.  James Alfred Chapman
Alfred Chapman (1839-1917), engineer and collector [more].

3.  St James
St. James's Street (K.169a). It was reproduced in Vanity Fair by lithographic transfer; see 'St James Street - June 1878,' Vanity Fair: A Weekly Show of Political, Social and Literary Wares, Vol. 22, 'Season Number', 2 July 1878.

4.  Irish trip
This may have been a trip to visit Kate ('Cousin Kate') Livermore (1820-1907), née Prince, wife of A. Livermore [more]. Arthur Livermore (b. 1811), lawyer [more], was then US consul in Dublin.

5.  Hogarth
Joseph Hogarth and Sons, printsellers and publishers.

6.  Airlies
Probably Henrietta Blanche Ogilvy (1830-1881), Countess of Airlie [more], and David Graham Drummond Ogilvy (1826-1881), 5th Earl of Airlie [more].

7.  etchings portraits
Unidentified.

8.  Susie's
Susannah ('Susie') Plumridge Livermore (b. 1855), daughter of K. and A. Livermore, later wife of E. Sutton.

9.  article
A reference to a note in the World published on 3 July 1878 describing St. James's Street (K.169a) as 'sadly disappointing.' This was picked up by JW and became the subject of a letter to Atlas's column. Both letter and note were reprinted by JW in Whistler, James McNeill, The Gentle Art of Making Enemies, 2nd ed., London and New York, 1892, p. 46.

10.  28. Wimpole Street
The address of William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

11.  ought to have
'Don't think ... ought to have' is written at right angles to the printed address on p. 3.