UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 03460
Date: [27/29 November 1889][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Marcus Bourne Huish[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 7/102-3
Document Type: MsLd[3]


'102'[4]

My dear Huish, -

Since my return a few days ago

Do you think that you and Mr Brown[5] can come down here on Saturday and I will show you that we may talk matters over

I really dont know about this exhibition, these etchings[6] have absorbed me altogether and open up I fancy quite a new epoch. There is

I think I have quite ex new proposition to make views to offer anent the possible exhibition. You had better come down that we may talk it the matter over without so that if it doesn't please you you may in plenty of time make other arrangements for your galleries

So that if my views plans do not seem to you profitable you may make other arrangements for your galleries

With me as you know work the work continually developes new possibilities interests and these last etchings of mine have opened up a future beside which the past is mere child's play.

[p. 2] '103'

When I tell you that I mean directly to destroy the mass of the my former plates that I   you will understand I will have given you a prati practical idea of the worth of these latter ones and of the effect that I must feel they will produce upon the My present enthusiasm devotion to this work in this direction might even be made a means of profit to all of us. the Society - if the Society can think [or?] be made to see it. if the Lord will permit the Directors to see it!

However there is no use writing more, suppose that you and come down here on Sunday morning next, if you like (Saturday I fancy would be too busy a day with all these exhibitions) while on Sunday we will have a quiet morning. Perhaps you had better bring Mr Brown with you to make more of a "council of war". Suppose we say about eleven o'clock.


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [27/29 November 1889]
Dated by reference to return from abroad. JW had recently returned from Holland.

2.  Marcus Bourne Huish
Marcus Bourne Huish (1843 - d.1921), barrister, writer and art dealer, Director of the Fine Art Society [more].

3.  MsLd
Written by Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

4.  '102'
Paginated in an unknown hand.

5.  Mr Brown
Ernest George Brown (1853 or 1854-1915), assistant manager at the Fine Art Society [more].

6.  etchings
'Holland set', 1889 (K.402-416) (excat 10).