UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 03391
Date: [4 November 1894][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Thomas Robert Way[2]
Place: London
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 143
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS[3]


110. Rue du Bac. Paris.

Sunday.

My dear Tom.

Yes - The Doctor[4] is very good - something in each - so that we will keep those stones -

The young lady (Miss Howells[5]) wont do - certainly, not as it is - No more from that at present - we will wait until I am there to see if it can be cleaned up in the face - I told you I did it in the dark -

You might print 12 more of the Doctor in the unfinished chair - This is really fine - I wish I had sent it to you when quite fresh - I like the proofs with the sharp bright black lines in the coat -

And for the present 6 more of the Doctor in the finished chair - Of this you seem to have sent me only 2 proofs - you must have meant to send 3 as you did of the other. [p. 2] I like the drawing much - and if I had sent it to you when fresh I think the head would have come out perfectly - The nose is excellent - only the eyes seem not to have taken - The hands would have been charming if the drawing had not been kicking about in neglect, so that some of the sharpness has gone now -

What is this nonsense I hear about Goulding[6] circulating a report to the effect that he has discovered something new in the way of lithographic printing! - some tint business! -

Dear me! what a stir up in the camp there seems to have been. - I shall never have anything to do with him - But you ought to find out Tom what it all means - And just you be quiet about our future intentions[7] in the way of colour printing etc! - Not that anything matters! - for all this is nothing to what your Father[8] is going to print with me when I get on a bit further! Write me a line though and tell me all about it - How did it happen that Goulding should have been brought to think about lithography at all - instead of sticking to his pot of treacle at the etching press.

[butterfly signature]


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

To
Thomas R. Way. Junr.
21. Wellington Street
Strand
London
Angleterre
[stamp:] POSTE / 25 / REPUBLIQUE FRANCAISE
[postmark:] PARIS 80 / R. DU BAC / 7E 4 / NOV / 94
[postmark on verso:] LONDON - W. C./ S. M. P. / 8A / NO 5 / 94


Notes:

1.  [4 November 1894]
Dated from the postmark.

2.  Thomas Robert Way
Thomas Robert Way (1861-1913), printer, lithographer and painter [more].

3.  ALS
Published in Spink, Nesta R., The Lithographs of James McNeill Whistler, gen. eds Harriet K. Stratis and Martha Tedeschi, Chicago, 1998, vol. 2, p. 126-27, no. 128.

4.  Doctor
The Doctor (C.110) and Portrait of Dr Whistler, No. 2 (C.111)

5.  Miss Howells
A Portrait: Mildred Howells (C.112).

6.  Goulding
Frederick Goulding (1842-1909), printer and print-maker [more], had become interested in lithography in 1893 as a result of a lecture and demonstration given by T. R. Way for the Art Workers Guild (see #03337). In addition to inventing a smooth transfer paper of his own, he adapted the plate tone technique used in copper-plate printing to lithography by introducing a second tint stone that was selectively wiped and printed in register with the drawn stone; see [Gleeson White], 'Lithographs and Their Printing: An Interview with Mr. Frederick Goulding', The Studio, vol. 6, no. 32, November 1895, pp. 86-101; Way, Thomas Robert, Memories of James McNeill Whistler, the Artist, London and New York, 1912, pp. 112-13; Spink 1998, op. cit., pp. 61, 135, no. 141, n. 141.1.

7.  intentions
'intentions ...further!' is written in the left margin of p. 2 and the rest in the left margin of p. 1, at right angles to the main text.

8.  Father
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more].