UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 03390
Date: [2 November 1894][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Thomas Robert Way[2]
Place: London
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 142
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS[3]


'2 Novr 94'

110 . Rue du Bac Paris

My dear Tom -

I was pleased to get your note - but I don't know at all about the Doctor's[4] portraits -

The fact is I had thrown them aside and had given up all thought of having them ever printed - It was Mrs. Whistler[5] who had a better opinion of them and sent them on to you - So now we will see! -

I must send you some more paper - Some of the small old Dutch for the Doctor - What do you think of the drawing [p. 2] from Mr. Howell's sister[6]? It was done in the dark almost - and I can only hope for the best -

I wonder if the proofs will come tomorrow or on Sunday morning - that is always pleasant -

I will attend to what you asked about the odd proofs printed in Paris - but it is not easy, as the firm[7] in question has broken up, and gone to the dogs!!! -

With many messages to your Father[8].

[butterfly signature]


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

To
Thomas R. Way. Junr.
21. Wellington Street
Strand
London
Angleterre
[stamp:] POSTE / 25 / REPUBLIQUE FRANCAISE
[postmark:] PARIS / 80 / R. DU BAC / 4E 2 / NOV / [94?]
[postmark on verso:] LONDON - W. C. / S. M. P. / BA / NO 3 / 94


Notes:

1.  2 November 1894
Dated from the postmark, and the date written in another hand on p. 1.

2.  Thomas Robert Way
Thomas Robert Way (1861-1913), printer, lithographer and painter [more].

3.  ALS
Published in Spink, Nesta R., The Lithographs of James McNeill Whistler, gen. eds Harriet K. Stratis and Martha Tedeschi, Chicago, 1998, vol. 2, p. 126, no. 127.

4.  Doctor's
The Doctor (C.110) and Portrait of Dr Whistler, No. 2 (C.111). These lithographs were drawn in late September or early October 1894 (see B. Whistler to A. H. Studd, 3 October 1894, #03176), when William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more], came to Paris at his brother's request to examine Beatrix. He diagnosed cancer.

5.  Mrs. Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

6.  Mr. Howell's sister?
A Portrait: Mildred Howells (C.112).

7.  firm
Belfond, lithographic printer (see Spink 1998, op. cit., p. 56).

8.  Father
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more].