The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 03365
Date: 9 February [1894][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Thomas Robert Way[2]
Place: London
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 120
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS[3]

110. Rue du Bac. Paris.

Feb - 9 -

My dear Tom -

A line in great haste to say that I am sending you today a new drawing of the Luxembourg Gardens - "Les bonnes du Luxembourg[4]" - Put it on stone directly, while still fresh - it was drawn yesterday - It ought to come out beautifully - and as there is no stump work in it, it ought to give a good transfer also - in which case Thomson[5] might have the use of the transfer for his Art Journal[6] -

I should like you to send me as soon as you can, 10 proofs - The drawing is very light in parts - it [is] [p. 2] done with the German chalk[7] your Father[8] first wished me to use - and so I hope will roll up perfectly not withstanding its lightness -

Meanwhile whatever proofs you have, I hope [you] will send me directly - and I trust that among them are some of the three Luxembourgs[9] -

I am quite distracted with work - and rather worried[10] -

With kindest regards

J. McN. Whistler.

This document is protected by copyright.


Thomas Way Junr.
21. Wellington Street
[postmark:] PARIS / 20 / BD ST GERMAIN / 6E 9 / FEVR / 94
[postmark:] LONDON / C. X. / BA / FE 10 / 94


1.  9 February [1894]
Dated from the postmark.

2.  Thomas Robert Way
Thomas Robert Way (1861-1913), printer, lithographer and painter [more].

3.  ALS
Published in Spink, Nesta R., The Lithographs of James McNeill Whistler, gen. eds Harriet K. Stratis and Martha Tedeschi, Chicago, 1998, vol. 2, p. 92, no. 81. '94' is inscribed in pencil, in another hand, on p. 1 immediately after the date written by JW.

4.  les bonnes du Luxembourg
Nursemaids: 'Les Bonnes du Luxembourg' (C.81); see #03362.

5.  Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

6.  Art Journal
Nursemaids: 'Les Bonnes du Luxembourg' (C.81), was finally published in The Art Journal, vol. 46, no. 120, December 1894.

7.  German chalk
Probably Zorn or Korn lithographic crayon; see #03339.

8.  Father
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more].

9.  three Luxembourgs
The Steps, Luxembourg (C.68), Conversation under the Statue, Luxembourg Gardens (C.69) and The Pantheon, from the terrace of the Luxembourg Gardens (C.70).

10.  worried
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more], was ill, with symptoms of the cancer from which she died two years later.