UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 03348
Date: [15 November 1893][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Thomas Robert Way[2]
Place: London
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 104
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS[3]


110. Rue du Bac. Paris -

My dear Tom -

Monsieur Marty[4] will I suppose turn up on Thursday - He brings with him five drawings[5] - They don't really mean anything like what I expect to reach directly - The three little Luxembourg gardens[6] I could have done more with under better conditions -

However never mind - let us try them all - The two figures[7] I have a certain hope for -

But soon some more - and perhaps I may send you over a stone by Mr Heinemann[8] - before the end of the week. -

You know you told me that the "Pall Mall Magazine" - [p. 2] belongs to the millionaire Astor[9] - and that I ought to have a big price for anything I might do for them - Now find out for me what are the big prices paid by the bigest [sic] publications? - I dont think I should entertain the P. M. Magazine business, because the book itself seemed to me so very vulgar in get up - and is besides so small in size - for a lithograph - But I have had other proposals - say nothing of all this - find out and let me know -

I suppose I shall hear from you tomorrow - By the way you might as well send me your address[10], so that if a letter goes after post time, you might find it in the evening when you get home -

[butterfly signature]


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

To
Thomas Way. Junr -
21. Wellington Street -
Strand -
London -
Angleterre
[2 stamps removed]
[postmark:] PARIS - 80 / R. DU BAC / 7E 15 / NOV / 93
[postmark on verso:] LONDON - W. C. / C. X . / B A / NO16 / 93


Notes:

1.  [15 November 1893]
Dated from postmark and a pencil note in another hand, '15 Nov - 93' on p. 1..

2.  Thomas Robert Way
Thomas Robert Way (1861-1913), printer, lithographer and painter [more].

3.  ALS
Published in Spink, Nesta R., The Lithographs of James McNeill Whistler, gen. eds Harriet K. Stratis and Martha Tedeschi, Chicago, 1998, vol. 2, p. 70 , no. 55.

4.  Marty
André E. Marty (b. 1857), journalist, illustrator and print publisher [more]. JW had told Way that Marty was coming to visit him soon (see #03347). In #06102 Way had mentioned that Marty had not yet appeared.

5.  five drawings
The Steps, Luxembourg (C.68), Conversation under the Statue, Luxembourg Gardens (C.69), The Pantheon, from the terrace of the Luxembourg Gardens (C.70), The Draped Figure, Seated (C.72) and Nude Model, Reclining (C.73).

6.  three little Luxembourg gardens
The Steps, Luxembourg (C.68), Conversation under the Statue, Luxembourg Gardens (C.69) and The Pantheon, from the terrace of the Luxembourg Gardens (C.70).

7.  two figures
The Draped Figure, Seated (C.72) and Nude Model, Reclining (C.73).

8.  Heinemann
William Heinemann (1863-1920), publisher [more]; see #03347.

9.  Astor
William Waldorf Astor (1848-1919), diplomat and writer [more]. In 1893, he moved to Britain, bought the Pall Mall Gazette, and founded the Pall Mall Magazine.

10.  address
In 1892 T. R. Way was living at 43 Upper Berkeley Street, Marylebone. A year later he moved to 50 Upper George Street, Marylebone, and in 1900 to 110 Regent's Park Road, Hampstead.