The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 03345
Date: [31 October 1893][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Thomas Robert Way[2]
Place: London
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 103
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS[3]

110. Rue du Bac. Paris -

My dear Tom -

I dont seem yet to quite get what I want - but I am convinced that the stump takes perfectly on the German grained paper[4] - The French paper I am not sure of yet - it seems to be intended for pen & ink work -

Soon however I daresay it will come out all right - Indeed I was very near sending you over some one or two things by Mr Sickert[5] who went to London last night -    Now about the [p. 2] stone[6] - Of course I couldn't send stones backwards & forwards accross [sic] the channel -

When I run over to London at any odd time I will do a stone in Wellington Street[7] - and try things with your Father[8] -    so after all I may as well wait until then for the mixture -

Naturally I have every sympathy with any ones feeling about their own materials and methods and results - and I certainly would not dream of proposing that your father and you should give away the secrets of the house - so that's all right! -

About the drawing[9] I dont [p. 3] remember giving it to your Father - but if I did, it surely must have been by myself! - I think he will know that I am scarcely in the habit of collecting the sketches of my contemporaries!!!! -     Besides I rememberknow that at one time I always made a drawing before going to bed! - of myself I mean - though I finally destroyed most of them -

I hope his one is not so very bad - though doubtless if I had it here I would pop it in the fire - where I daresay it ought to have gone with the rest! -

Perhaps one of these evenings I shall do another! -

[butterfly signature]

Does your Father know anything of the Art Editor[10] of [p. 4] the Pall Mall Magazine? He wrote and asked me to do them an etching ! !

But what an ugly publication!

This document is protected by copyright.


Thomas Way Junr.
21. Wellington Street
Strand -
London -
[postmark:] PARIS - 20 / 195 BD ST GERMAIN / 3E 31 / OCT / 93
[postmark on verso:] LONDON W.C. / C.X. / BA / NO 1 / 93

[written on verso:] own portrait


1.  31 October 1893
Dated from the postmark. '31 Oct 93' is written in another hand in pencil on p. 1.

2.  Thomas Robert Way
Thomas Robert Way (1861-1913), printer, lithographer and painter [more].

3.  ALS
Published by Spink, Nesta R., The Lithographs of James McNeill Whistler, gen. eds Harriet K. Stratis and Martha Tedeschi, Chicago, 1998, vol. 2, p. 66-67, no. 51.

4.  German grained paper
JW was trying out various grained lithographic papers recommended by Way.

5.  Mr Sickert
Walter Richard Sickert (1860-1942), artist and writer on art [more].

6.  stone
Blocks of limestone: JW's drawings, done in lithographic crayon on lithographic paper, wer transferred to the stone, etched, and printed in London. On 17 October 1893 T. R. Way had explained to JW the technical difficulties the artist might have in posting stones from Paris to London (#06100).

7.  Wellington Street
The Way's printing office in London.

8.  Father
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more].

9.  drawing
Probably r.: Portrait of the Artist; v.: Nude (M.683). The Ways had been trying to identify a drawing of JW that they owned; see #06100.

10.  Art Editor
The editor of the art columns in the Pall Mall Magazine. JW had also mentioned the offer from the Pall Mall Magazine to D. C. Thomson, see #08246.