UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 03239
Date: 25 April [1894][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Alexander Reid[2]
Place: [Glasgow]
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 215
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS[3]


110 Rue du Bac - Paris -

April 25 -

Dear Mr Reid -

I have never received any reply to my answer to your letter about the portraits[4]? -

Are you perhaps coming over immediately, and for that reason remain silent until you see me? -

The Champ [sic] de Mars[5] is in full swing - and I have sent quite [p. 2] a group -

Very Sincerely

J McN Whistler

Write a line to say what it is all about -


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  25 April [1894]
Year dated from related letters (see below).

2.  Alexander Reid
Alexander Reid (1854-1936), Glasgow dealer [more].

3.  ALS
A copy in the hand of Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more], is in GUL Whistler LB 4/75/1.

4.  my answer to your letter about the portraits
On 27 March 1894, Reid wrote to JW regarding a portrait commission in Scotland (#05159). JW replied that the idea was 'most interesting', on 3 April 1894 (#03204).

5.  Champ [sic] de Mars
4th Exhibition, Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, Paris, 1894.