UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 03186
Date: [5 August 1896][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Edwin Austin Abbey[2]
Place: Fairford, Gloucestershire
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 4/236/2-237/1
Document Type: MsLc[3]


My dear kind friends -

You will know I am sure, that, though I cannot well write many words to you, I was much touched by your letter[4] -

You have seen us in our home - and can understand that alone, I am but a forlorn reminder of the brightness that charmed you and all who came to us! -

Still - I would like to see you. My Trixie[5] liked you both - I remember she wanted me to make a drawing or lithograph of Abbey - "for his wife[6]" -

So I must do it - for I just am left, I suppose, to carry out what she delighted in -

One of these days I hope to get down to you - Meanwhile when you come to town let me know - that you may find me in the [p. 2] studio I had taken to please her.

With my kindest regards -
Always affectionately.

J. McNeill Whistler.

St. Jude's Cottage - Heath End
Hampstead.


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

Mr. & Mrs. Edwin Abbey.
Morgan Hall.
Fairford.
Gloucestershire.
[postmark:] Au: 5. 96.


Notes:

1.  [5 August 1896]
Dated from the postmark as recorded by the copyist.

2.  Edwin Austin Abbey
Edwin Austin Abbey (1852-1911), painter and illustrator [more].

3.  MsLc
Copy made by Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more].

4.  your letter
Untraced.

5.  Trixie
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more]. It was a sorrowful time for JW; Beatrix had died on 10 May 1896.

6.  wife
Mary Gertrude Abbey (d. 1931), née Meade [more].