UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 03163
Date: [3 May 1900][1]
Author: JW
Place: [Paris]
Recipient: Arthur Haythorne Studd[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 4/214/1
Document Type: MsLc[3]


My dear Peter -

I have not had a minute to thank you - But the picture[4] arrived safely and really it was lucky you sent it! - for I have had it beautifully repaired by Chapuis[5], and retouched the places - so that now it is all right again -

At the present moment the picture is hanging in the American Section[6] - and looking its very best! -

I am running over and shall see you in a day or two Peter!

so a bientôt.

[butterfly signature].


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

Arthur Studd Esq.
Cheyne Walk.
Chelsea -
[postmark:] [May 3. 00]


Notes:

1.  [3 May 1900]
The date of the original postmark was noted on this letter copy in the left margin.

2.  Arthur Haythorne Studd
Arthur ('Peter') Haythorne Studd (1863-1919), painter and collector [more]. He had been known as 'Peter' since art student days.

3.  MsLc
This copy is in the hand of Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more].

4.  picture
Symphony in White, No. 2: The Little White Girl (YMSM 52). Studd had owned the picture since 1894.

5.  Chapuis
Messieurs Brisson, Maison Chapuis, 2 Rue des Bourdonnais, Quai de la Mégisserie, Paris, were the picture restorers recommended by JW for repairing Symphony in White, No. 2: The Little White Girl (YMSM 52), which had recently been damaged (see JW to A. H. Studd, #03160, #03161).

6.  American Section
Universal Exhibition, Paris, 1900. JW showed works including Symphony in White, No. 2: The Little White Girl (YMSM 52) and Mother of Pearl and Silver: The Andalusian (YMSM 378).