The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 03161
Date: [17 April 1900][1]
Author: JW
Place: [Paris]
Recipient: Arthur Haythorne Studd[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 4/211/2-212
Document Type: MsLc[3]

It gave me great pleasure, my dear Peter, to get a letter[4] from you after all this while! - You always were a nice fellow - and we were always fond of you. -

And Peter I do hope you wont be going [p. 2] out to the Cape[5] - not that I don't know that you would distinguish yourself anywhere for your pluck and willingness to be shot, but Peter my dear, that is not what is wanting - and you know my opinion of amateurs - even for the cannon's mouth -

Your Brother, of whom I hope you have good tidings, has been brought up to it and will make a brilliant Officer - but that is quite another thing - However Peter I daresay it is my old West Point notion! Still I do think that neither gentleman riders nor volunteer yeomanry and the rest of it are other than simply sacrificed, What they want are troops and Officers of great knowledge - that is real habit, - Well never mind - you are splendid and if you were called upon to defend your own home & country, you would be amazing -

Now Chapuis relined your picture[6] upon my consent - It was in sore need of it because of the damp of the Island[7] - and then they brought the picture to me, in a perfect condition - and looking beautiful! Chapuis told me that it was going immediately -

My dear Peter - This was to have gone at once - but like your picture it didn't - I sent for Chapuis immediately and he told that he kept the picture to watch it awhile - but it was sent weeks ago - He promised to write - & doubtless it is all right - And now Peter - dont you think you would like to have your little White Girl in this great & beautiful Exposition!? - Do Peter once more [p. 3] lend me the little lady, and again be delightful as you always are to

Yours affectionately

J. McNeill Whistler.

It will be very gratifying to me if you will do this - for the picture has never been seen in Paris - And of course Peter you will come over & see the wonders yourself.

This document is protected by copyright.


Arthur Studd. Esq.
Cheyne Walk.
Chelsea. (Old Lindsey Houses)
[postmark:] [Paris April 17. 1900]


1.  [17 April 1900]
Dated from the postmark as recorded by the copyist.

2.  Arthur Haythorne Studd
Arthur ('Peter') Haythorne Studd (1863-1919), painter and collector [more]. He had been known as 'Peter' since art student days.

3.  MsLc
This copy is in the hand of Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more].

4.  letter
A. H. Studd to JW, 4 April 1900, #05613.

5.  Cape
A reference to the Boer War (1899-1902).

6.  Chapuis
Messieurs Brisson, Maison Chapuis, 2 Rue des Bour donnais, Quai de la Mégisserie, Paris, were the picture restorers recommended by JW for repairing Symphony in White, No. 2: The Little White Girl (YMSM 52), which had been damaged (see JW to A. H. Studd, #03160).

7.  Island
Presumably, JW was alluding to Britain.

8.  your picture
Symphony in White, No. 2: The Little White Girl (YMSM 52). Studd had owned the picture since 1894. In 1900 he lent it to Universal Exhibition, Paris, 1900.