UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 03160
Date: [March 1900][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Arthur Haythorne Studd[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 4/211/2
Document Type: MsLc[3]


My dear Peter -

I have every day meant to wire to you - and now at the last moment as we pack up I write to say dont[4] send for Richards[5] -

It will be all right with the picture[6] - Only you must send it to Messieurs Brisson, Maison Chapuis, 2 Rue des Bourdonnais, Quai de la Mégisserie. Paris -

They do everything for the Louvre -

In awful haste and always sincerely

J. McNeill Whistler -

Send the picture as explained and I will look to it and Chapuis shall do everything under my personal direction -


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [March 1900]
Dated from a letter from A. H. Studd to JW, 4 April 1900, #05613, which appears to relate closely to this letter.

2.  Arthur Haythorne Studd
Arthur ('Peter') Haythorne Studd (1863-1919), painter and collector [more]. He had been known as 'Peter' since art student days.

3.  MsLc
This letter copy was made by Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more]; she noted that the original was written by JW on a French telegraph form in pencil.

4.  dont
Double underlined.

5.  Richards
Stephen Richards (b. ca 1845), picture restorer [more].

6.  picture
Symphony in White, No. 2: The Little White Girl (YMSM 52). Studd had owned the picture since 1894. It had recently been damaged (see JW to A. H. Studd, #03161, #03163).