UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 02976
Date: [27 November 1895][1]
Author: JW
Place: [Lyme Regis]
Recipient: Marcus Bourne Huish[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 3/39
Document Type: ALS


'27th Novr.'

Well - I am sorry rather, for your sake, that I have seen the Interview you sent! - It gives one such a horror of Dowdeswell's Show[3] with its loathsome vulgarity & sham, that it makes one sick of any thing like publicity - It certainly has for the moment taken a bit of the frolic out of one - & I think I would willingly now do without the flag altogether! - The people, or the canaille[4], misunderstand - not that one proposes ever to be understood! the Lord forbid! - but they see some of the beauty & grace of our good humour! [p. 2] The day has gone by, my dear Huish, when a gentleman might amuse him self with the Town! - The hinds have thought that they also might be playful! - & look at the gross business.  -  - -  Well this must go! -    I must get you off the signed proofs - tomorrow if possible -

Flag[5] - well your last proposal will do - but the square with Butterfly smaller[6] - in proportion - & I believe that no matter how you hang it the Butterfly ought to be the other way - & not upright from the ground - then it ceases to be flag & is sign -

[sketch of flag with horizontal butterfly] & not [sketch of flag with vertical butterfly]

Send working drawing

Always Sin[cerel]y

J M W -

I am looking forward to see[7]


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [27 November 1895]
The date is written in another hand diagonally across the top left corner of p. 1. The full date is given on JW's partial copy of the same letter, #01320.

2.  Marcus Bourne Huish
Marcus Bourne Huish (1843 - d.1921), barrister, writer and art dealer, Director of the Fine Art Society [more].

3.  Dowdeswell's
C. W. or one of his sons, Charles and Walter Dowdeswell, of Dowdeswell and Dowdeswell, art dealers. JW may in fact mean the Exhibition of Original Lithographs, Mr. Dunthorne's Gallery at the Rembrandt Head, London, which was held in November-December 1895.

4.  canaille
Fr., mob.

5.  Flag
See r. and v.: Flag for a lithograph exhibition at the Fine Art Society (M.1445) and Designs for a flag for a lithograph exhibition (M.1447). This relates to the exhibition design for Mr Whistler's Lithographs, The Fine Art Society, London, 1895. The exhibition opened in December.

6.  smaller
Double underlined.

7.  not
Double underlined.

8.  I am looking forward to see
'I am ... see' was written upside down to the main text, and deleted, and probably relates to another letter.