UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 02835
Date: 1 May 1879
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Charles Augustus Howell[1]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 12/5
Document Type: MsLS


The White House, Chalsea [sic] Embankment -

1st May - 1879.

Dear Howell,

In consideration of your undertaking all risk and expense in the matter of the two engravings now in progress by Mr Richard Josey[2], one being the portrait of my mother[3], and the other the portrait of Miss Rosa Corder[4], and freeing me from all liability thereunder, and of your handing to me as soon as completed Twenty Five Artists proofs of each picture, I assign and make over to you all my copyright and interest in both the above mentioned pictures -

Yours Faithfully

J A McN. Whistler

C. A. Howell Esq.


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Charles Augustus Howell
Charles Augustus ('Owl') Howell (1840? - d.1890), entrepreneur [more]. The letter was written by Howell and signed by JW.

2.  Richard Josey
Richard Josey (1840-1906), reproductive engraver [more].

3.  portrait of my mother
A mezzotint engraving after Arrangement in Grey and Black: Portrait of the Painter's Mother (YMSM 101). As well as purchasing the copyright, Howell organised the subscriptions (see subscription form, #11902).

4.  Rosa Corder
A mezzotint engraving after Arrangement in Brown and Black: Portrait of Miss Rosa Corder (YMSM 203). Howell also organised the subscriptions (see subscription form, #11682).